#MarathonMonday, 5 Motivational Songs for the Long Run, and a WINNER 

Happy Monday y’all! I had a long but fun weekend. Friday was boring with at home work. Saturday I cheered on my girls at the Color Run in Asheville:

Vixons and Villians!

They are all amazing women and I couldn’t be prouder!! These were some of my Sunday night Flying Feet in Faith Ladies RUN group runners. Go girls!!!

Then, Sunday was my first long run of this marathon cycle with 97% humidity.  As a distance runner I’m so over running through soup. ugh. But. Glad it’s done. And the crazy thing was as I was running I kept thinking “how dear Lord, am ever going to run 26.2 miles any faster than this?!” Funny how with each training cycle I think very similar thoughts. I had to remind myself that I have fun four marathons now. And I always finish them. Not always strong, but, I still finish them. So yes, I can cover the distance! Having my new inspirational bracelet form My Big Dream Shop is pretty motivting too. Oh, and I finally hit my mileage goal I set for myself a few weeks ago! So far week one marathon of marathon training was right on target. Only 15 weeks to go…

I’m digging my new #Irun4 bracelet thanks to Dream Big Runner!!

Then I’ve been thinking a lot about what words I’m putting in to my head. From my own inner thoughts to the words in my earbuds. Sometimes you just need that good beat to get your booty in gear on the run. Especially if you’re struggling through a long tempo run. Finding good, positive, and upbeat running Christian music can be tough to find. Let alone finding any kind of song without copious amounts of cursing. So I’ve compiled five favorites of mine. I hope you enjoy them as well!

5 Motivational Songs to Get You Going

1.) Soul On Fire by Third Day

This one is by far my favorite right now! When I’m having a great run I feel like my soul is indeed on fire.

2.) Brother by Need to Breathe

This one isn’t really for speed work but it’s great for the long run. I am in love with it’s message.  Be a “sister” in the running community!

3.) The Lost Get Found Britt Nicole

This song has been one of my favorites for a few years. It reminds me to be the light of the world! Don’t let your fire burn out!

4.) Overcomer by Mandisa

’nuff said here! Running a marathon is truly a courageous adventure where you will have to overcome many obstacles!

5.) Overwhelmed by Big Daddy Weave

This one speaks to me when I’m running in the forest. Because I am just absolutely overwhelmed by how AWESOME God is and how MARVELOUS this world is. From the mountains to the oceans His glory is everywhere. And who am I? I am but another small human. And it’s overwhelming. Even if you aren’t a believer, you have to admit that when you stand next to the ocean or great mountain you must feel overwhelmed at some point…

I’ve been known to throw my hands up and praise God during a run…I may look cray cray but I am indeed blessed!!!

Oh yes, and the winner from My Big Dream giveaway is:
Jackie M.

congrats and your info will be on the way soon!!!

How’s your training going? Fav run? Fav weekend happening? Fav song?? What would you add to this playlist? Do you listen to music when you run?

blessed and beautiful running.

jesssig

4 thoughts on “#MarathonMonday, 5 Motivational Songs for the Long Run, and a WINNER 

  1. YES awesome post. My legs were dead during Saturday’s 16 miler and I was thinking all the negative thoughts 😦 …”why am i doing this?” and “I don’t know if I can finish the marathon!” …Not my favorite run but it sure made today’s tempo comparatively blissful! 🙂 I’m always looking for new running music – thanks for the suggestions!

  2. It’s so hard not to beat ourselves up after a tough run. I also feel like if this humidity doesn’t let up soon, I’m going to scream. Every run has felt the same for weeks now and I just want one day where it feels easy. lol The time will come. That first cool morning is going to be amazing!! We’ll get there! 🙂

Tell me what you really think...

