#WisdomWednesday The Struggle is Real. But Yes, You CAN!

“Don’t say I can’t. Say I presently struggle with.” – Tony Horton

It’s okay to think you can’t until you’ve had your coffee…

This has been me. Every. Single. Morning. Can’t move until caffeine has taken over body and mind…..Wait, what?! It’s Wednesday already? Amazing how time flies by like that. I’ve started my new work schedule where I work longer days but have one more day off to focus on my personal training gig.

So how did I fare with my zero goals for #MotivateMe Monday? Perfectly. And apparently one of my zero goals was to not blog sometime in-between last Wednesday and now. ha! I ran when I wanted. How I wanted. I read a little more. Enjoyed a weekday with my kid, went to the movies, had a date night with the husband at my fav place Olive Garden, enjoyed the pool, ate brownies and ice cream…yeah. I’m a human being!!! Yes, a crazy running machine (LOLOLOL) but also very, very human. I refuse to act like I have all my crap together all the time. Because I don’t. I’m honest. Raw. Real. But I’m also dedicated and motivated. So it really was the best thing I could have done for my overall well being. I tend to push myself to the limits. Since I’m starting marathon training up again next Monday I figured a good mental and physical break was needed. I take my marathon training pretty serious with diet, strength training, and running so taking a few weeks to let the body and mind wonder is a refreshing take from the strict training weeks.

And no. I’m not an Olympian. But yes, I still take my training seriously. Why? Because if you have the mindset of an Olympian you can achieve great things in life. Not just running goals either. But having that dedicated mindset will translate into every crevice of your life creating a bold and confident lifestyle.

I’ve been running super low mileage lately but this past week I’ve been up a bit more and this week I’ll be up a bit more and ready to rock next week! I have a pretty aggressive 16 week plan laid out ahead of me. Which brings me to my main point. Sometimes we become so overwhelmed with everything we “have” to do that we forget that it is a blessing to be able to do so. And even when we do “fall short” on getting things done it’s not the end of the world! The earth will continue spinning and no one will think any less of you if you just couldn’t get to that last load of laundry. I promise. And if they do have a problem with that, then they obviously have the problem and need to live life on the edge a little more like, “ohmygosh I’m a total rebel. Totally NOT washing the dishes today. I’m going on a hike instead. Living on the edge baby!!!!” Life was meant for work, yes, but more for exploring and enjoying!!

After working with my client today I had the opportunity to go for a run since my sister had the kid and took them to an afternoon movie in town. Yay! Run! OUTSIDE! But wait, it’s like almost 11 and it’s really warm outside…so I can’t run outside. I’ll just die! I just know it! #thestruggleisreal

But so is the solution:

I remembered I live next to this incredible thing called the forest, where it’s cooler. Trail running…It’s like pure freedom. A kid with candy running wild without inhibition through an amusement park. That kind of happy y’all! I mean look:

pisgah-trail

you’d run this all day too if you could!

Yes it was still warm but I just slowed my roll and focused on breathing and just being in nature. Trail running is therapy. And on my run today I was reminded of how good God is. And how blessed I truly am! The daily struggle in life is real, but His strength is real too. I need to stop trying to work in my own strength on the daily because I do nothing but exhaust myself and always feel that I come up short.. Running away in Pisgah took me to a place of peace.

hello Pisgah Forest! been too long…

muddy sweaty legs=one GREAT run!

You might not think you can right now, but yes, yes you can! For almost every problem there is a solution. You may just have to get creative. Long work hours? Set your alarm a little earlier in the morning to get that workout in. Stuck eating out too much? Pre-pack a few quick snacks and dishes. The Lean Green Bean has the best food and meal prep solutions!

A few tips on overcoming the life struggle:
  • Plan ahead.
  • Prep foods.
  • Allow yourself some grace.
  • Wake up 15 minutes earlier to take a time out with yourself. Coffee. Tea. Read. Whatever you need to have a quite moment. I can not do my day without this!
  • Break your problems down into bite size pieces. Looking at a weekly mileage log of 50 miles seems like a lot, but if you take it just a few miles at a time each day it’s not so bad.
  • Tomorrow has enough troubles of it’s own for you. Be present in your today.
  • Drumming up problems inside your head will stress you out to no end. So how about you stop that. Right now! Instead drum up positives. Solutions. Ideas. Goals.
  • Remind yourself that you are human and capable of so many great things but not EVERY single great thing.
  • Keep a “blessing” or “grateful for” journal. Write down one thing each day that you are grateful for. Re-read as needed.
  • Take a week to simply enjoy life! Eat the brownies for Pete’s sake! (whomever Pete is. I’ll never know….) But DO NOT eat them daily. Once a month is enough… I usually save my big treats for post race grub.
  • Connect with others who are in similar boats. Link arms with them!
  • When all else fails: just close your eyes and BREATHE.

What do you presently struggle with? What’s one thing this week you can do to overcome that struggle? Anyone else gearing up for a marathon training season?
blessed and beautiful running.

jesssig

5 thoughts on “#WisdomWednesday The Struggle is Real. But Yes, You CAN!

  1. I take my training seriously too. In fact, I tend to plan my life around training and not the other way around. I’ve been known to leave parties early and skip social gatherings altogether because I had a run/ride the next day – because I want to!

Tell me what you really think...

