A New Kind of #MotivateMe Monday. Goal: No Goals!

Hellllllllooooo Monday!! I’m so happy you’re here. What?! Yes. I am. Because, it’s a new week. A fresh start. And I just got back from the gym so I’m feeling all kinds of pumped positivism going on. And after much thought about the race this past weekend, I’ve decided that I’m ridiculous and that I should totally celebrate a new PR…

my good friends at Sports Spot in town have spoiled me again!

So to celebrate a shiny new PR (in every distance even this year 5k, 10k, 10 miler, marathon!!) I splurged on some new running duds. Positive mindset is back in full force friends!! Sometimes you need to sulk for 24 hours or so then you’re recharged and realize how silly you’ve been. We are HUMAN. not machines.

Getting to spend time with this kid helps remind me what truly matters most in life:

Love this kid. We had a fun time uptown during the 4th festivities.

And like cheeseburgers and wine. But seriously this stuff was yum! I was like whaaaat? Cheeseburgers are my favorite thing and now there’s a wine for that?! I found it at our local shop in town, Broad Street Wines. I don’t drink a lot or even very often but a nice glass of red after a hard race was pleasant.

then there was wine…cheeseburger wine.

And like our garden’s fresh blooms. I love, love, love flowers!! God’s creation is pretty much perfect. and we are blessed. so stop and smell the flowers y’all. It’s just good for the soul.

Allow life’s beauty to encompass you. Draw you in. And forget the troubles.

So as far as this week’s line-up for miles, I have zero goals. I don’t care if I run 60  miles or 0 miles this week. I just want to enjoy life as it comes at me. With no worries. No stresses. No preconceived ideas of how life should run.

Goals are important. In fact I strongly recommend having goals, setting them, and smashing them to completion. Goals give us that motivation and boost we need to get things done. On the flip side we can become so dependent on meeting or crippled when not meeting goals that we forget to take life as is. It’s nice to cruise through life one in a while. Allow the scene to take you in where it wants you. In two weeks I will be back at marathon training and giving it all I have. Because I want to qualify for Boston darn it!! But before I get back to serious training or goals I need to be seriously healthy on the inside. That’s a huge part of my personal training regime, making sure women feel secure on the inside!

So here it is, NO MORE negative talk. No more “I’m not good enough” garbage. Just because I’m not an Olympian, elite, pro, or even first place finisher doesn’t mean I’m not great in my own right.

I started running when I was 25. I was that girl who hated running. And now look where I’ve brought myself. I’ve come a long way, baby. And for this, I celebrate! And YOU should celebrate YOU. No matter where you are currently in life. You can only move forward once you’ve accepted where you are currently and have a healthy mindset to tackle life’s challenges.

How do you celebrate life? Have you had cheeseburger wine? What do you purchase to celebrate a running PR?
blessed and beautiful running.
5 thoughts on “A New Kind of #MotivateMe Monday. Goal: No Goals!

  1. I took a break from running goals after Boston. I was so tired and needed some time off. I still ran and trained for a trail ultra, but I didn’t look at paces or finish times. It was so refreshing!!

  2. You deserve that wine and new shoes.!! you’re definitely “good enough” of a runner. As long as you’re trying hard.
    I’m the same way though.!! one day I’ll be all bummed, and the next day all positive. lol

  3. Pingback: #WisdomWednesday The Struggle is Real. But Yes, You CAN! | Flying Feet In Faith

Tell me what you really think...

