#MotivateMe Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday! It’s Not the Failure. Sometimes It’s the Goal.       

I am not a cookie cutter woman. I am imperfect, flawed, broken beyond repair, damaged, wild, and chaotic. I can be completely unruly and out of line.

But all of this is what makes me beautiful. Or this:

me on Monday.

Yeeeeahh, last week’s #MotivateMe Monday did not work last week. I did blog more than once though…. there’s something.

You know, sometimes we set goals that seem to be bigger than our own briches. Then sometimes we set goals blindly. Like for example, trying to squeeze in a 40 mile week knowing I had a FULL week ahead with visiting the kid at camp, visiting in-laws, long work week, training clients, picking up the kid from camp… With the 6 hour round trip drive to my son’s camp…twice last week, I think aiming for a 40 mile week was a bit unwise. Then, I fell sick Monday. I think I more or less had  some kind of summer cold I caught from my son’s camp. Also, combined with being over worked and stressed to the max trying to be everything. But whatever it was it caused me to lay out on Monday and feel lethargic Tuesday.

To be totally honest with you all, I was beginning to feel depressed. Of all my great plans and goals…I had stupid thoughts like, “You’re not good enough to pull off this personal trainer gig. Who do you think you are? You SUCK at being a wife and mom. Maybe you should just stop trying. Give up. You’re not a real runner. Those runners this weekend are going to kick your BUTT. You’re not fit enough yet. Maybe you should cook more you lousy ‘homemaker’. You’re just a terrible human being with the worst attitude.”

I know. I know…..But that’s part of blogging. Being real with each other. And thank the LORD it was only a crazy temporary mind battle.

But today is a new day! A new month in fact. I had plenty of solid sleep and this morning I sprung out of bed like a fresh daisy:

I feel recharged and refocused. I know my miles haven’t been high and I’m racing a 10k this Saturday. But it will be what it will be. And it will be just fine. Instead of focusing on mileage or times at this point I will focus on making sure I stay sane and healthy. Then beginning on July 20th I will start focusing on mileage again.

Though I felt discouraged due to my lack of running with an upcoming race looming overhead, I know I have been giving every day my all. And then in my little red book I read this:

“Erase from your mind that your preparation must be perfect. Hard work + dedication =a shot at your dreams. Keep believing.” Kara Goucher

Life is inherently imperfect. As long as you know you are giving each and every day your best, then that’s what it takes to be successful. We are all human. We all have busy lives at times and other things in life must take precedence over the sport of running. *gasp* I know it’s a hard pill to swallow but it’s true. Unless you get paid to run, have no job outside of the home (or in home for that matter), have no family or children at home, trying to maintain solid high mileage week after week will become near impossible at times. And that is OKAY. So bottom line:

Set SMART goals.

Refocus when needed.

Practice enjoying the journey.

Keep priorities straight i.e. family.

Get back at your running/fitness goals ASAP.

Meditate, practice yoga, and enjoy hot bubble baths often.

Know you’re not alone in this adventure. We all struggle from time to time.

July goals
  • Race a strong 10k July 4th. Regardless of time. My goal is to race as strong as I am capable.
  • Hit 40 miles by July 20th in prep for marathon training.
  • Remain focused.
  • I will think harder before setting goals.
  • I may or may not read that book I said I would…
  • Have 5 clients by the end of the month and see my current clients succeed!

This week’s line-up:

Monday: sick day

Tuesday: rest/light yoga and stretching

Wednesday: 4 miles w/hill sprints + yoga

Thursday: Easy 5 miles

Friday: Rest/light yoga stretching

Saturday: 10k race!

Sunday: easy 5 miler shakeout run

On another less serious note:
photo

just another day at the office.

My office outside of the pharmacy. I’ve been typing up plans and notes for clients for two hours now and I need a break! So I blog. Try blogging on the ball. Nice little core workout with proper form. Oh wait…I need to be typing up my own plan now…I almost forgot…. #PersonalTrainerProblems

Have you ever set unreasonable goals for yourself and then felt like a loser? Have you had similar stupid thoughts? How do you get rid of them? How are your summer goals coming along?

blessed and beautiful running.

jesssig

13 thoughts on “#MotivateMe Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday! It’s Not the Failure. Sometimes It’s the Goal.       

  1. Very true, sometimes I set unrealistic goals and feel discouraged when I don’t achieve them. There is a “sweet spot” where the goal should be set juuust high enough that we’re forced to with & reach for it, but not toooo high that it is unattainable. Keep up the good work!

  2. I get the loser feeling from time to time. It sucks. I know I’m doing my best, but sometimes I just get down on myself.
    I know that the feeling is temporary and keep doing my best every day. Fun time with girlfriends always helps!
    You have so much on your plate…don’t be too hard on yourself!!!

  3. I admire everything you do – you seem like such a great mom and I think anyone would be lucky to have you as their personal trainer! You seem to genuinely care about others, and I think that’s an important quality for a trainer. I know how you feel, though. I feel like every goal I set for myself this year has gone to the wayside and I haven’t accomplished anything, and then I get down on myself. But I acknowledge the feeling and try to think of a positive for every negative and then move on. Doesn’t always work, but it’s a good strategy when everything seems crappy!

  4. I definitely struggle with feeling like a loser or not good enough at times! I try to just accept I am having a hard day but not get stuck in that thinking. I talk to my husband or friend about it and also refocus on what is going well or progress I have made.
    You have a lot on your plate and life gets crazy sometimes! Be kind to yourself and remember, this too shall pass (this helps me!). Good luck at your 10k race this weekend! Love your goal to just get out there and run your best!

  5. It’s ok to feel down on yourself for not completing a goal – but I like how you know exactly how to get past it and move on! No one is perfect and no one will always hit their goals every week. I certainly don’t either – and I’m not even a mom! I’ve become a much more relaxed person with my goals in the past year. I make them and I try to achieve them…but if I fall short sometimes, I just pick it back up and keep going just like you’re doing!
    By the way, I love your office ‘chair’!

Tell me what you really think...

