Wisdom Wednesday Plans Shmams. How to NOT Make Plans.

Hello Wednesday we meet again. I had plans for you. All kinds of well intention, carefully drafted, time-lined, and highlighted plans for you. But instead, my car battery died. My immediate thought,

“ohhhh-emmmm-geeeee. how am I going to drive to town to run?!” #slightlyobsessedrunner

It’s okay to totally LOL at me now.

My husband, true to his ever prepared self, hands me his car keys and told me to go out and run and we will solve the car problem when I return. Ladies, this is a wise man indeed. He knows how much happier momma is when her run is in and done.

After happily driving to running destination (sounds so ridiculous. drive to run. i know.) I realized I had forgotten to grab my arm band for music at the house and my Garmin would not connect.

But. Instead of freaking out (what has gotten into me?) I calmly, almost excitedly, thought,

“hmmm. a nice no-pressure-who-gives-a-crap-what-my-slow-pace-is-today run might be just what I need.”

So happily I ran off on a 6ish mile route I was familiar with. It was refreshing. Running naked can really help you to focus on your breathing and running technique. I highly recommend running naked once a week, at least.

Thank the Lord my husband was home to help take care of me and ‘ol Focus. After my run we spent our entire morning jumping off the car, carefully driving it to town, having it looked at, and blah blah blah {{insert boring as crap details here}}. While this might seem frustrating for the A-type it was kind of nice. Instead of planning I was just living in the “now”.  Running without Garmin and music (Who AM I?!) and then it was nice to enjoy lunch with my kiddo and hubby. And this time instead of freaking out over the whole situation, as per usual, I decided to relax and enjoy the life snafu.

I feel as though God was reminding me to chill out. I have been uber stressed lately and taking it out on the world. But today instead I laugh. I smile. I am happy. I am full of joy because it is MY choice. And you have that choice too.

choose laughter when trouble comes. it lightens the load.

Not having plans can be refreshing. But it can also sometimes prevent sticking to routine! I’m currently “tuning up” so to speak, for the 10k on July 4th. So, here’s my #MotivateMe Monday schedule:

Monday: XT 20 minutes + upper body strength routine

Tuesday: 7 miles speed work

Wednesday: 6(ish) miles easy + Vinyasa Flow Yoga

Thursday: 8 miles w/6@10k goal pace

Friday: 5 miles easy + lower body stability/strength routine

Saturday: 10 slow miles

Sunday: Planning for an easy 4. Kid goes to camp here so I will be lucky to get a run in.

Total goals miles: 40

Last but not least, I introduced you guys to the Micro Nutrient company, EnduroPacks, a while back. I have now been using the product for a month and feel I can give you all a complete, thorough, and totally honest review. If there is one thing you can always count on from me (we all now know it’s not timely posts…) it’s the fact that I will always be 100% honest with my readers and do my homework before giving out any review. It will take me some time to properly type up the review as there is tons of good info. Look for it next week! For now I will just show you how it’s helped me thus far, observe below:

Finally the official review NEXT week!!

While my arms aren’t super mega buff they are most definitely way more defined than they ever have been. I feel like I am in better shape now than before I gave birth to a child.

A few key notes on the product to tide you over until next week:

  • I feel stronger and leaner
  • I have more energy throughout the day
  • My workouts have been top notch
  • I don’t dehydrate as bad on my runs when I use the electrolyte spray

Well, since my plans are a bit skewed for the day I might as well just take off to the pool now… enjoy y’alls humpday!

Are you a planner and freaker-outer (yes, it’s a word) when plans don’t go as originally planned?? If you’re married, is he/she your hero too? How are you blessed today? What makes you laugh? Have you heard of EnduroPacks? Do you use supplements?
blessed and beautiful running.

jesssig


 
5 thoughts on “Wisdom Wednesday Plans Shmams. How to NOT Make Plans.

  1. I like to stick to the plan too, but I have had to deal with my car dying (right when I needed it) – thankfully my husband was there to help! As I’m currently traveling for work, I’m having to make adjustments to my marathon training plan. So far I’ve managed to get my hard-effort runs in, but I’ve had to skip a couple easy runs. I’m enjoying traveling but also looking forward to getting back home and settling back into my normal routine! 🙂

Tell me what you really think...

