TnT Tuesday: Electo Pops, a Chill Way to Stay Hydrated and Healthy

electropops

Good afternoon Tuesday! I realize my posting has been a bit of a hit or miss and quite frankly sporadic as of late…you can pretty much expect that from me over the summer as I get busier. There’s that and I’ve been quite uninspired to write. Not sure why…maybe it’s because I have no marathon training going on currently? I’ve been staying busy with work, personal training, kid’s baseball, running, cross-training, and weight just kinda how ever I’m feeling. No strict must-run-this-pace plan. And I’m freaking LOVIN’ it! Yet simultaneously going stir crazy without a strict routine. *Note to self: I’ll have plenty of time later to kill self in training. Enjoy while easy running lasts.

But today I have a super cool tip for staying hydrated this summer in a new cool fancy way. Only requires two to three ingredients…depending on how much fruit you like. That and I have a totally hard time making anything more complicated than three ingredients… I kid, I kid. I can cook. When I feel like it. You see a trend here…running when I feel like it, blogging when I feel like it, cooking when I feel like it….summer has already hit my brain apparently.

Anyway, onward to our fun treat. I call them Electro Pops. Short for electrolyte. I told you it was fancy. I know, I know… you are all thoroughly impressed with my classy wit. But on a more impressive note, these little pops cost you about 10 calories or less (depending on if you use NUUN or Gatorade) each with a little burst of essential electrolytes. It’s an easy way to stave off that late night ice-cream craving and/or hydrate on a hot summer day. Also, way more cost efficient than purchasing popcicles with all kinds of refinded sugar and corn syrups in those pre-packed deals. And, the kid loves them.

Electo Pops Recipe

Step one: gather everything you need. Like this list:

  • knife, preferably a short one specific to fruit. or if you’re classy like me just grab a streak knife. whatever works.
  • straws
  • empty ice cube tray(s)
  • strawberries, blueberries (whatever fruit you like)
  • pre-mixed NUUN, Gatorade, or your electrolyte beverage of choice

Step two: cut straws into thirds and place one in each cube space

photo 1 (2)

straws and ice cube trays. super affordable and easy.

Step three: cut fruit into little cubes and fill ice cube tray. The more you stuff in there the better the straw sticks up.

cutting strawberries with a steak knife. it's okay to judge.

cutting strawberries with a steak knife. it’s okay to judge.

fill with yummy, refreshing fruit.

fill with yummy, refreshing fruit.

Step four: pour electrolyte beverage over until covering all cubes. Where’e my picture here? Think I was getting too anxious to freeze them and forgot to snap. Oh well, you get the idea.

Step Five: freeze for about 4-5 hours

one I pulled out had my strawberries shaped like a heart. proof these are good for you. ;-)

one I pulled out had my strawberries shaped like a heart. proof these are good for you. 😉

Step six: loosen tray, pull out by the straw, and enjoy! like this kid:

kid friendly. adult approved. win-win!

kid friendly. adult approved. win-win!

The funniest thing was that the kid was like, “ohmygosh these are soooo good!! Did you find this off Pintrest?” I replied, “No. No I did not. I just figured this one out on my own. I don’t need Pintrest. Pintrest needs me.”

hahaha although I am almost near positive this may have already been thought of before. I’m sure. But for now, my kid thinks I’m a total genius. 😉

So there you have it folks. A blog post and a neat, good-for-you popsicle recipe. You’re welcome.

Is your brain already geared up for summer? Any fun plans? Are you an ice-creamaholic like me??

blessed and beautiful running.

jesssig

6 thoughts on “TnT Tuesday: Electo Pops, a Chill Way to Stay Hydrated and Healthy

  1. Totally sure I could live on ice cream/frozen yogurt. Those treats are brilliant and totally pinterest worthy : ) ! I love that they are super healthy and would be DELICIOUS after a hot, humid, summer long run!

Tell me what you really think...

