Thinking Out Loud Thursday…Maybe It Was the Popcorn and Chocolate.

Thinking-Out-Loud

Thank you Amanda at Running With Spoons for hosting Thursdays are for Thinking Out Loud! It’s the perfect link-up to get all my crazy thoughts off my mind.

I’m going to be honest. I struggle. I really, really struggle.

Maybe it was the popcorn and chocolate last night.

Maybe I need new shoes.

Maybe it was the HIGH pollen count in the air.

I don’t get it. It was a sunny, cool, and glorious day here in the mountains of western NC but my run felt HARD. I felt heavy, slow, and out of breathe the entire time. And I kept finding myself angry with my body.

Why is this so hard? I am so blessed to be out here! Did I not pray right this morning? Is it because I got too frustrated with the dog?

Maybe I am dehydrated.

Maybe I am tired.

Maybe I am over thinking the whole situation.

Part of my game plan this week was to hit the weights more and focus on over all strength and total body conditioning. And in my running journal this week I even promised myself to not beat myself up for not running as much. But I fear losing all that endurance I built over the past four months…BUT I also know a.) I will not lose a substantial amount of endurance and  b.) how important it is to remain strong and healthy. My body can not just keep pounding the pavement without a serious break here and there. It’s only been three weeks post marathon and I’m already beating myself up for not running 30+ mileage weeks. Dummy. Get over it.

I know that the body needs rest and a restorative period. Especially if I’m going to ask it to marathon train all over a gain in two months. I keep trying to remind myself that I will have another four brutal months to beat myself up.

JUST CHILL.

Do you struggle running during the warmer months? How low do you keep your mileage after a marathon? What’s on YOUR mind this Thursday?

jesssig

25 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud Thursday…Maybe It Was the Popcorn and Chocolate.

  1. I totally empathize with where you’re coming from. It’s so easy to just go with what we know. Running is so easy, and it’s crazy to think about how much work we have put in to build up our milage and speed. I struggle with the same thoughts. I went to SoulCycle this morning and planned on taking the day off from running, but it’s so nice outside that I’m having a hard time not going for a run after work… but rest is important! : )

  2. Strength training can really wear down your legs too! It will make you a stronger runner and I think it helps with speed but those gains take awhile. Give yourself some grace during the “off season”, and remember that when you do start with marathon training again in a few months you won’t be starting from scratch, most plans and programs have several weeks to build up the longer runs so as long as you’re keeping a strong base, you should be fine. I too understand how hard it is not to pound the pavement all the time and to cut back mileage and I feel guilty doing it (I probably should take my own advice). But doing it now beats having to cut back due to injury, illness, etc when you are seriously training too.

      • Plus, sometimes on really beautiful days (especially after it gets hot, when we have the random “cooler day”), I set myself up with really high expectations on a run, like because the weather is nice, that it *should* be a good run. I think a lot of that depends on so much, not just weather but also the other runs we’ve done that week, any strength training, stress in our own lives, etc.

  3. I totally know what you were feeling. The past two weeks, this has happened to me. I know part of it is due to the weather and the heat wave we are having. Part of it is that I am dehydrated. Part of it is because I am tired. But mostly, it’s because we are human! Running is a funny thing. Even when you think you have everything right, there are so many uncontrollable variables. But you did mention strength training. If I do strength one day and run the next, my legs are DEAD! So I bet that played a factor for sure. Don’t let it get you down!!!

    • Yes, yes to all your parts here too! I haven’t been increasing my fluids to compensate for the heat and sweat factor. Gotta get back on that. I don’t see how some runners both seriously strength train and marathon train. My legs def are feeling it. Thanks for the encouragment! Nice to know I’m not alone in feeling like this occasionally. πŸ™‚

  4. The hot weather always slows me down. I actually had a crappy run this morning where My breathing was off and my legs were heavy. These days happen.
    To keep mileage, I make sure to have another race to work towards.

    • It’s comforting to know I wasn’t alone in feeling like this today!! Having another race lined up helps me too. Shooting for a hot 10k this July so I better get used to the heat lol but I know I’m a terrible hot weather runner. I DO love summer and all but, is it autumn yet?! πŸ˜‰

  5. I’ve had some challenging runs the past few weeks. I truly think that acclimation to the heat and humidity just takes time. I am just trying to get miles vs worrying about time right now. I start marathon training at the end of June so I’m just enjoying not sticking to plan right now. It feels good!! πŸ™‚

    Just think of this time as the time to rejuvenate your love of running! Don’t wear a watch for a while and just run on perceived effort. Run a trail to mix it up! You’ll be back in a training plan soon enough.

  6. Thank you for such an insightful piece. Sometimes I forget that these off-seasons are meant for recovery and a lot of us hold ourselves too accountable for the runs that go “bad”. Thanks for the reminder for me to chill!

  7. Oof, I just wrote a post this morning about running in this warmer weather and how it’s crushing my confidence. Don’t get down on yourself about a bad day! (I know, I know, so much easier to give this advice than take it ourselves.) Take the time you need to rest and recover. Post-marathon, I always take two weeks off and then it’s only really easy, slow running for a few more weeks after that. (And sometimes that feels really hard! But that’s okay!)

  8. Adapting to running in the heat – especially after just running a marathon – is a struggle and you’re definitely not the only one on that struggle bus! I’ve been less confident in my running lately but just trying to remind myself that it’s ok and our bodies WILL adjust eventually and running through the summer will only make you stronger as a runner.

Tell me what you really think...

