Thinking Out Loud: Pharmacy Frustrations with Twinkies and Apples

As it already is in my normal life I’m thinking out loud today, only this time while linking up with Amanda at Running With Spoons. My poor husband can testify that I tend to ramble on and on and on….generally about all the minuet details of my ever so intriguing life.

So in an effort to stay married I’m going to blog all about the current ramblings in my brain, with you. You’re welcome.

First order of business, as I woof down left over spaghetti in an effort to multi-task, is that I am struggling to keep an order in business! If you’ve been following me for a while now then you may be aware that I have become a certified personal trainer through NASM. woo! While this is exciting I am still intensely frustrated. I’m currently stuck working full-time in the pharmacy so I feel as though I can not devote the much needed time to build a successful career. I know it can be done, but man, it’s such a slow process. There’s just so much to think about. Especially since I’m the primary health insurance provider I can’t exactly just quit my current job. And there’s still that thing called RENT that has to  be paid. Quitting my current full-time, well paying job would be completely irresponsible. But there’s  nothing I desire more than to make a living, while LIVING. Does this make any sense? If not. Oh well. That’s what this post if for. Thinking out loud and rambling. Maybe after all this typing and posting something will come to my brain that makes sense of out all of this.

uuuuugghhhhhhhhhhhhh.

So. In an effort to segway out of pharmacy I have been tirelessly been working on a resume.

It goes something like this:

Pharmacy for 10 years.

marathon runner.

volunteer coach.

Not too impressive. In creating this resume thing I’ve been feeling beyond inadequate. Yes, I do have that lovely cert now. Yes, I do have a strong solid employment with a company.

But I have ZERO college degrees. And this has always been a source of feelings of failure for me. I tried going back once back when the kid was younger but I felt as though I wan’t being a parent. And I think that hurt  me more than not having that degree.

Unfortunately, companies don’t really care too much about how you feel as a parent. They care about experience, education, and skills.

Oh I got skills. I got mad running, marathoner, and motivational skills.

But is that enough for employment? Probably not.

Yes, so let me tell you more. Most days in the pharmacy are high stress, fast paced, and generally crazy with the crazy pubic. Getting yelled at for things out of my control. Watch people medicate while they buy their Twinkies and cigarettes.

I mean c’mon y’all! A bag of apples will last longer than those Twinkies, help regulate your blood sugar, and boost your energy! This is probably the most frustrating aspect of my current career. Watching people throw their lives out the window with band-aid solutions and temporary highs that ultimately destroy their long-term health.

In being a personal trainer I would have that career that would get people moving into their full potentials in life.

So my resume sucks. Whatever. I filled it out. Tried in vain to make it look pretty and sent it in anyway to any and every gym there is. There’s just too much risk in going into business myself for our family. We are simply not in that position. But if I could get hired on full-time in a gym maybe that’d be my meal ticket in the mean time.

In other news…I had an awesome sunny run yesterday and a great track workout this morning. It was a super short and simple track workout. Just enough to get my legs popping for the 5k this weekend while keeping ’em fresh.

Thank you Amanda for hosting this Thinking out loud Thursday so I could have a moment to vent.

And now, I’m off to the pharmacy. Prayers welcomed. 😉

blessed and beautiful running.

jesssig

12 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud: Pharmacy Frustrations with Twinkies and Apples

  1. I totally get where you are coming from – I love how you said you want to make a living WHILE living. I LOVE being a high school teacher, but I love my running life more and wish I could figure out a way to make it my job (however, I do work in the same town as Runner’s World and I am close friends with Bart Yasso so ONE DAY that has to get me SOMEWHERE!). My coach figured it out, though. He was a civil engineer who decided he loved triathlons – quit his job, started life-guarding at the pool where he swims and took on athletes to coach. His business is currently booming. I truly believe that you get out of things what you put in. So when you decide exactly what it is you want to do and where you want to go, that resume will come a lot easier to you and make a whole lot more sense! Not saying you don’t know what you want – but when the opportunity hits you, everything will fall into place!

    • I appreciate this comment so much!! Yes-I know exactly what I want. Only a matter of getting there. I make at least one step each day to get there. Even if it’s just a resume, training one client, learning new fit skills, blogging ect… Press on!!

  2. Pursuing a career that you love isn’t always easy, especially if you have a family to think about! But I think that taking small steps is still a great way to get yourself to where you want to be without risking too much. And you’re already doing that with making a resume and sending it out, so it’s only a matter of time before you start seeing results. Just keep at it!

  3. I couldn’t agree more with the frustration of people trying to treat with medications while not living a healthy lifestyle..I am such a big believer in health as your medication! But awh don’t get frustrated..you seem like you are doing great things! I’m also looking to get certified through NASM as I complete my dietetic internship and become an RD 🙂
    xoxo Sarah Grace, Fresh Fit N Healthy.

  4. Becoming a full time trainer is hard work! I wish you the best on your journey toward that goal! Just know that there are a lot of us out there with multiple degrees that can’t make it full time either. You have to put in a lot of unpaid hours to develop a client base once you get hired on as a trainer somewhere. It’It’s all a process, but stick with it if your goal is truly to help others. We need those kind of trainers in the field far more than the ones just out to make a quick buck!

  5. Jess, I’m an IT Consultant, so I do a lot of resume and linkedIn profile updating, and a lot of interviewing. My advice is to make sure that your resume reflects your passion. So, in the opening paragraph describe what your passion is, and how your skills and experience fit that passion. I’m always willing to look at your resume and comment. Go Run!

Tell me what you really think...

