Thoughts for Thursday: BELIEVE Journal and Why

believejournal

say hello to my new secret weapon.

Hello Thursday! I have a lot going on today so this is just a brief post to introduce you to my new secret weapon. Except I guess it’s not really a secret if I’m displaying it out for you to see…but you’ll never see the inside {insert wicked up to no good chuckle here}.  I found the perfect running log/journal for my next adventure(s) in life thanks to Vita Trains 4 Life who blogged about this fancy little leather bound journal. ((You should check Vita out. Her writing is witty, humorous, and inspiring!)) Created by elite athlete women Lauren Fleshman and Roisin McGettigan-Dumas it’s chalk full of inspirational words of wisdom. I love the layout of the book as it allows freedom to write, doodle, plan, and think out loud however I see fit. The journal also introduced me to Fleshman’s Blog where she answers Questions of the day.

In other news, on Instagram I was tagged to write five reasons why I run and I thought I’d share with y’all #5reasonirun since I’m all into goal setting and new dreams with my journal. It’s always a good idea to revisit the why behind the goal(s).

photo (6)

post marathon swollen face. mmm. photo I chose for #5reasonsIrun

  1. Running is my freedom
  2. it makes me feel strong inside and out
  3. it’s brought me new friendships that otherwise wouldn’t exist
  4. it’s goal setting, achieving kind thing–always striving to be a better version of myself
  5. I like to eat bacon cheeseburgers. a lot.

So this is my official farewell and break-up with DailyMile. Bring on the new goals and BIGGER dreams!!

That’s all I got y’all!

Do you keep a hand written journal? What are some reasons you run? Do you re-check and re-set your goals throughout the year? What’s on your summer to-do list?

blessed and beautiful running.

jesssig

16 thoughts on “Thoughts for Thursday: BELIEVE Journal and Why

  1. I’ll include my 5 reasons on my blog and link back to yours!
    I keep a handwritten journal and write in it every night before bed. It’s just short hand…kind od like a tweet but it helps me unwind and reflect.

    • Yay I’ll look forward to reading yours! I think just even jotting a few words down helps so much in the winding down process. I have too many rambling thoughts in my brain. All. The. Time. Writing is a great outlet so my poor husband doesn’t become exhausted with my words lol

  2. Ohhhl, I will post my five reasons and link back to you too! Good idea! No handwritten journal for me – I think I am too disorganized. I am bad enough about being consistent with my blog – I go in spurts where I have a lot to say and then I neglect it. I’m constantly rechecking in with my goals – lately I haven’t hit any of my running goals so they are unchanged for now ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m a teacher so my summer to do list is endless! Running and relaxing are at the top, though!

    • Lol I’m the same way with this blog. Depends on how much I have to say week to week how much y’all y’all hear from me and how motivated I am to write ๐Ÿ˜‰ running and relaxing sounds like the perfect summer recipe!! I look forward to reading your reasons!

  3. Haha I think a lot of us run because we like to eat or drink :). But no bacon cheeseburgers for me (I am planning on a nice shrimp sandwich at lunch though). This journal looks cool but I’m so bad about keeping anything by hand. I started using Training Peaks to log workouts which is for me to see only and I really like it. Sometimes I don’t want to put it all out there and have people comment, etc. Like you mentioned on DM, it can start the ugly comparison trap.

    I am going to spend the summer focusing on speedier workouts rather than long miles. I’m hoping to PR some 5Ks and do some as tempo runs. I don’t plan to run another half marathon for awhile so I want to get my speed up a bit. I’ll still do long runs (like 10 miles or so), but I don’t see a point in going more than 10-12 when training for 5Ks.

    • Exactly my summer plans! Plus, running too long in the summer is tough. Guess I’ll see how I to with logging by hand and adding my miles up the old fashioned way lol not the best at that part. But I’m really excited about writing down all my thoughts and secrets ;-$

  4. Thanks so much for the shout out! I absolutely love my journal and, it’s so much more then just writing down your daily run log ๐Ÿ™‚ I also love cheeseburgers and they are my go-to fav meal post-race!!

  5. I just got this journal! I bought it for myself as a reward for making it through marathon training and I’ve already started setting goals. I haven’t kept a handwritten journal before this, but from here on out I think I will. There is so much great inspiration in there!

  6. I have a handwritten training log but I often slack on keeping it up-to-date and end up having to play catch-up. My best form of tracking my training has been my weekly updates actually ๐Ÿ˜€
    In setting goals, I am very go-with-the flow. There are overall time goals I’d like to hit in the near future, but I often make smaller goals along the way to get me there. It helps me see my progress more clearly.

    • I’ve not been the best at keeping hand written journals so I’ll see how I keep up. lol You are wise to set smaller goals along the way. That’s one of the key elements in accomplishing the larger, long-term goals. Have an awesome weekend, Charissa!

  7. Pingback: #MarathonMonday DREAM BIG + GIVEAWAY | Flying Feet In Faith

Tell me what you really think...

