Wisdom Wednesday: The Best is Yet to Come 

#Spring #running !! making wishes along the way…

I’m a girl with BIG goals, dreams, and ambitions. And I believe that the very best of me is yet to come. And I think that YOU should believe that about yourself no matter your age, place, or current position in life. As we get older we tend to think that our “shelf life” is becoming stale or expired. But I truly believe that we can only become better versions of ourselves if we press on each and every day to get the best out of ourselves. Don’t let age, failures, set backs, or other negative distractions stop you from pressing on. With each stage of life comes new challenges and successes. My marathon success most likely will not be the highlight of my 40’s or 50’s but rather other things will become the best of me. Like what, I’m not sure yet. But I do know that ready or not, life is going by and I better be ready to hold on tight! However, in the meantime, I read somewhere that women tend to fully peak at their marathon racing ability in their late 20’s, early 30’s. I’m 29 and been running for roughly 3.5 years. So I feel like the best of me in running the marathon distance is still out there. I’m still going to run that BQ. Bring it.

“Female long distance runners are like wine, they get better with time”

“Most of the time, endurance athletes peak ten years after they begin.” -RunningTips101.com expert resource, Coach Rick Rothman

So like I mentioned yesterday, I have already created a game plan post Country Music marathon. Because without a few goals I am lost. So very lost wondering around aimlessly and I’m already too blonde to be wondering around aimlessly as is, so it’s better to have a game plan lined up.

Summer/Fall Goals:

  1. Journal offline with training. I’ve been logging all my runs/workouts on DailyMile but as I’m trying to re-focus my life and reduce stress I feel it’s best to get off one or more social media sites. And I think this is one that can go. I’ll be training but it’ll be top secret. 😉 This is something I feel like the Lord has led to me let go of.
  2. I’ll be taking the summer off strict training and focus heavily on core strength and yoga.
  3. Test my mile, 5/10k, and half-marathon time
    1. 5k is lined up for May 9th at the Tata Trot in Rosman, NC Find the race on FACEBOOK. This course is notorious for a solid 5k PR
    2. Half-marathon is lined up for June 6th at the Asheville Half in Asheville, NC I ran this race a few years back untrained and just for the fun of it. But I have yet to actually attempt to race a half-marathon. yes. that’s right. I’ve run FOUR FULL marathons and only half halfheartedly ran a half. once.
    3. 10k is lined up for July 4th at the Firecracker Run in Brevard, NC This course has been known to crush me because I don’t do well in heat or humidity. But I am determined to race it strong this year.

      I was all like, “omg I’m NEVEEERRRR running 26.2 miles again.” Then after “MUST DOMINATE AND CONQUER MARATHON NEXT TIME!!!” 

      So naturally you know I’m ready to sign up for my next marathon….

    4. And the full marathon is set for the Rock n’ Roll Savanna November 8th. I loved Savanna so much and regret that I was totally untrained for the race last year. This year I’ve proven to myself that by training hard I can knock off 18 minutes on a tough course. So I’m feeling strongly that I can knock off some more time on a flatter course with cooler weather. I do believe the hubby and bro-in-law have agreed to run this as their first full marathon too…
  4. Creating my own marathon plan. In the past I’ve always strictly followed a pre-set plan. And they have worked. But this last time I just kept feeling like I could push more. So I’m going to tweak what I’ve been currently using to fit my own body and schedule.
  5. Focus on the blog a little more. I’m not the best at blogging. nope. But I love the running/blogging community.
  6. Work on creating more personal training routines for clients. This takes T-I-M-E.
  7. Focusing on nutrition… as I mentioned on Facebook I have a problem:

What is wrong with this picture?? #EatClean ha not. #workinprogress

So I bought this Runner’s World book on a whim since I found it on sale at our local bookstore. I feel like if I could learn to really manage what the heck I’m putting in my body then maybe my body would respond naturally by picking up in speed and strength. But who really knows. I’ve read where some elites have been known to carb load on donuts.

thoughts on that one??

How quickly do you sign up for a race post marathon or any other distance? Are you LOVING spring running? Any spring/summer races? How’s your healthy eating habits going? Mine stink!

blessed and beautiful running.

jesssig

6 thoughts on “Wisdom Wednesday: The Best is Yet to Come 

  1. I love the quote about female distance runners and wine!

    I too have considered getting off daily mile. To me social media in general can be bad for runners. I am in a facebook group where people post their training runs and it routinely turns into comparison (for me at least) and seems like people are racing their runs (not during races but just ordinary daily 5 milers or whatever). People post things like “Easy 5 miler at a 7:30 pace”… when they run a 21-22 minute 5K. Some elites don’t run easy days in the 7s! It’s gotten to where I’m embarassed to post that I ran an easy 5 miler at a 9:20 pace just to enjoy the day or something, you know?

    You have so much running ahead of you and so many years and chances to improve. That’s what’s so great about this sport, you have more chances to BQ and YOU WILL. You’re gonna do great in those other races too once you’re training again post-marathon. And like you I am planning to work more on core and strength this summer and probably run a little less as it gets hotter.

    • I couldn’t agree with you more!! Your comment has a lot to do with my reasoning. I’m ready to simply compare myself with ME. And not anyone else. I think social media is great for newbies who need accountability and excitement but I’m ready to launch into a higher purpose. 🙂 thanks for ready Amy!!

  2. I think being a woman distance runner in your 30s is where it’s at, sister! I hit 30 and my times dropped big time! So the best is definitely yet to come! I’m loving spring running and can’t wait to get my butt out there today!!

Tell me what you really think...

