#MarathonMonday 5 Days Until #RnRNashville and Martina McBride!!

IMG_2909

I started in January…and we are now half way through April?! Time flies…

Hey guys! I can not believe it’s already been 15 weeks ((WHAT?!)) since I started training for Nashville’s Rock n’ Roll Country Music Marathon! Like I mentioned before I have given everything I feel like I could have during this training cycle. Most weeks were strong and I was able to hit all my target paces and in review it looks like I’ve only had about 2 weeks that were kind of funky. And still out of 16 weeks of training the only runs I missed were one speed session and two 16 mile long runs, however they were replaced with a.) Green Valley 10 miler PR race! b.) easy trail run with the hubby. Which is always nice!

I started tapering about three weeks out with a gradual mileage reduction with my last long run four weeks out with a 20 miler. Over the course I’ve run roughly 640-650 miles during this training session. I love how DailyMile adds it all up for me. I’m a logistics nerd and like reviewing my numbers. But I’m too lazy to write or add myself. Thank you DailyMile.

Last week was more slack than I would have preferred…during taper the idea is to reduce mileage while still keeping your legs poppin’. We just had a lot going on with work, my treadmill trying to murder me, home, ball games and personal training. I did do two solid elliptical sessions, a treadmill “speed” workout, and an easy 5k with our SMART Girls with a few easy after.

Could I have trained harder? More often? More strength training and yoga? Sure. But I’m no elite athlete. I am a mom and wife first. I also have a full-time job in the pharmacy on my feet every day while simultaneously trying to segway into my new career path as a personal trainer. Every one has a different journey in life. Some are kid-less and have better opportunities within their careers to train more often. I believe I gave everything I could have while maintaining a family life.

Takeaway: NEVER ever compare yourself to others. You do the best YOU can with what you have. And you should be proud of all you have accomplished! I’ve accomplished more this training cycle then I did in my previous cycles. And for this, I am proud.

supporting a local elementary school with our SMART Girls..I think I need new shades…my Nike’s look like they are taking over my face!

On a side note, I’m thinking I’ll make all my race shirts into a quilt… The, send it so someone special… I have so many tees and like this one, many are too big for me to even wear!

So a few things I’m stupid excited about for this weekend:

  • We are leaving town earlier this time so we will actually get to enjoy the expo, unlike our Savanna trip.
  • Um, I’ll be in Nashville. One of my favorite cities ever!
  • I’m running a marathon. And I’m going to run it strong.
  • We get to stay with family! My new bro-in-law and his family are the coolest.
  • I’m going with my favorite people in the whole world! My hubby who is running the half and going to run it supa fast, but minus the kiddo who was running the kid’s run…however, he didn’t want to miss his two ball games here , and Mrs. A aka BRF who’s going to kill the hills with me!
  • IMG_2911

    we are preeeeety much awesome. love this chick.

  • Then we are going to eat massive amounts of good food.
  • We get to see Martina McBride in concert!!!!!! Love her!

oooooommyyyygeeerrrssshhh Martina!! {photo source}

What’s on tap for the last marathon training taper week:

Monday: REST

Tuesday: 5 easy w/5 strides

Wednesday: 3 easy

Thursday: rest

Friday: 3 very, very easy

Saturday: 26.2 MARATHON DAY!!!!!

Sunday: walking and exploring Nashville!!!

Well, my bags are starting to get packed and I’m not forgetting the sports bra like in Savanna..making a list and checking it twice…, the excitement is ridiculous, and I am driving all my co-workers crazy about now…..

ha. probably not.

So here are my official time goals for this race:

A.) 3:34:59 for the Boston Qualifying time!

B.) 3:45:00 if I am having a rough day and the weather sucks.

C.) 3:59:00 if I am really having a really rough day

D.) just finish. If I am dying.

But ultimately, we all know the main goal of the marathon it to run strong, healthy, and happy. And I am so, so thrilled to be feeling well! Unlike I did last November. Arriving at the starting line healthy and uninjured is an accomplishment in itself!!

ps- Don’t forget to guess my finishing marathon time HERE for a chance to win a tube of NUUN Hydration!!

Anyone racing this weekend in Nashville? We can meet up! What do you do with all your race tees? Do you support St. Jude or what charity do you support? Are you a country music fan? How many miles do you typically run during marathon training?

blessed and beautiful running.

jesssig

6 thoughts on “#MarathonMonday 5 Days Until #RnRNashville and Martina McBride!!

  1. I’m so in awe of your training! I’ve never been a big runner – I always start, but end up stopping a few weeks in… Your posts are definitely an inspiration! 🙂 Hope you have a great time! xo ♥

  2. Good luck, Jess! You will do great!! Can’t wait to hear all about the race and trip afterwards. Go get your BQ 😀

Tell me what you really think...

