#MarathonMonday It’s Taaaaaaaaper Time With CheriBundi

First off, Happy Monday! I know I haven’t posted in for-freaking-ever but life has gotten intensely busier with my attempt at personal training ON TOP of working full-time in the pharmacy. Type A or crazy… either way I’m doing my best to get after it every day. Although I fail often with ‘tude at home. You can only handle so much stress before you go cra cra. Lots of meditation and prayer helps…oh and bubble baths. yes ma’am.

Anyway, we had our first ladies group run this past Sunday. I would say it was a success. I mean, just look at these beauties! Hoping for more ladies next weekend. We all have different goals and ambitions but the thing that ties us together is determination to be the best version of ourselves! Running with friends is motivation in itself I think. I’m excited and hopeful about how Flying Feet Ladies Group will grow in the future!

So….anyway. About that marathon I’m running in two weeks…here’s kinda what’s going through my mind:

Have I done enough? Did I run hard enough? Often enough? Fast enough? Long enough?

I think most marathoners ask themselves these questions about this time.

Taper time. Crazy in the head time. 

Since my thoughts are flying like rockets ships on crack in my head I’ll simply list what I’m feeling. I like lists. They help me organize my crackish thoughts.

What I’m thinking:

I’m too slow to BQ

I’m fast! Like lightening baby. I got this!

Ugh. That 22 miler two weeks ago though… If I run like that … I’m DOOMED.

I’m a freaking rockstar!

I’m fat. I’ve been eating way too much. I definitely gained 5 pounds while training.

Pizza. Is. So. Delish.

My husband will divorce me if I don’t stop acting like a freak.

How I’m feeling physically:

Strong

Fat

Fit

Bloated

No pain or aches to speak of!!

How I’m tapering:

Cutting mileage

Eating cleaner: I LOVE smoothies with CheriBundi! And I recently found it at a Walmart Super Center!! Win. Tart Cherry Juice is the best anti-inflammatory. I haven’t had to take ANY kind of pain reliever during this marathon training as long as I have a bit of cherry juice daily. I even got my hubby hooked on it.

Best recovery smoothie!

Resting more.

Focusing on balance, core work, and light weights.

I’ve kind of been making up my own workouts even though I’ve followed the same plan religiously for 14 weeks…

So what’s on tap this week:

Monday: XT + weights

Tuesday: REST

Wednesday: 8 miles w6 @ MP + yoga

Thursday: 4 easy w/4 strides

Friday: 7 hills

Saturday: 10 LSD

Sunday: easy 4 or rest/yoga

total mileage doesn’t matter too much now.

It’s marathon prep time.

How’s your training going? Do you run with a group? Are you crazy Type A or calm, cool, and collect Type B? Do you like CheriBundi? You should!

blessed and beautiful running. 

jesssig

8 thoughts on “#MarathonMonday It’s Taaaaaaaaper Time With CheriBundi

  1. I love group running!!
    I usually dread taper, but I’m actually ready for this one.
    I can totally relate to all of your thoughts and I’ve definitely gained some weight this training cycle.
    I drink cherry juice after every run…love it!!!

  2. It’s so hard not to overthink EVERYTHING during taper time. But the best thing to do is relax and know that you did what you could. Come race day, you can’t control every variable that’s thrown at you, but just do your best given the circumstances. (Sidenote: you’re not the only to gain a few pounds during marathon training. I’m trying to figure out how to get my weight under control as I constantly think about food!)
    Good luck with your taper! Hope you can find a way to really enjoy the downtime 🙂

Tell me what you really think...

