#MotivationalMonday #MarathonMonday Free Oxygen & Running Battlefield.

IMG_2909

So this week in running… I gave myself two rest days instead of one, using one rest day as a XT (cross training) day on the elliptical and the other day for a short 1.4 mile hike. I feel like my body is simply needing the extra rest. Some people are running machines and I am not one of them. For me, it’s so difficult to not play the comparison game. Like why can’t I push harder when someone else can? Why am I not any faster?  Why have these past two weeks been mentally draining and like a running battlefield for me?! I did not hit my weekly mileage goal and here’s why…

No weekly running selfies or Garmin selfies this week. I just ran when I could. I didn’t get my speedwork in. First speedwork run I’ve missed all training season. I did run on the scheduled day I just didn’t push myself into the 800s…Several factors including: 

Late running start

Temps went up 

Windy as all get out

Read: excuse. after. excuse. 

Ugh

I wanted to run an easy six yesterday but I had to work ALL day. On Easter. I know. (So over pharmacy. Working hard everyday towards becoming a full time personal trainer!) So long run on Saturday plus being on my feet all day Sunday I just felt so sore all over especially my feet. So my hubby and I went on a short hike post work. And after all that hydration talk on Friday, I still have felt dehydrated all week. Why?

So where’s the motivational part of this post, miss negative Nancy??

Read Here: St. Jude.

I thought I would share with you all  where some of the money goes when you donate to St. Jude.

One Day of Oxygen: $447

Oxygen is key to keeping the immune system strong. A gift of oxygen can help a young body thrive and help fight cancer at the cellular level.

Child-sized Wheelchairs: $700

These special wheelchairs help children move easily through St. Jude.

Infant Care Supplies for 10 Babies: $50

These supplies help parents and nurses care for babies in treatment and include items like diapers, baby bottles, sippy cups, pacifiers, footies and heel warmers.

Wagon: $70

Wagons can make traveling through the halls of St. Jude easier for parents and more fun for a young child.

Parties to celebrate birthdays, holidays and “coming off chemo”: $75

St. Jude provides parties, decorations, cakes and more to keep spirits high during the holidays and to celebrate special occasions like birthdays and a child’s completion of chemotherapy treatment.

So regardless of how perfect or less than stellar my training goes during this marathon season, I know I’m running for a greater cause. If only 22 people donated just $20 dollars one kid could have one day of oxygen. I have free oxygen everyday. My body doesn’t fail me in health. It may become weary and tired at times…like during marathon training…but it is in good health. 

If you are blessed with free oxygen would you consider giving any amount to these kids? Donate HERE.

Perspective.

So what’s on tap for this week:

Monday: REST

Tuesday: 7 easy w/7 strides + strength training

Wednesday: Mile repeats 8 m w/3 x 1 m + yoga

Thursday: 10 m w/8 @ MP

Friday: 6 easy

Saturday: 16 lsd

Sunday: 6 easy or rest/yoga

Total goal mileage: 53 miles

I’m betting I’ll add another rest day in on Sunday. So that total mileage will be lower, like this past week. But I’m okay with this. Overall I’ve had a pretty solid training season. Rest is a key element in training. And I’ve almost lost sight of this.

I’m so grateful that all the monster long runs are behind me. We begin the slow taper.

T-minus three weeks!

How’s your training going? Doubts? Fears? Excitements? Do you compare yourself to other runners occasionally?

blessed and beautiful running.

jesssig

13 thoughts on “#MotivationalMonday #MarathonMonday Free Oxygen & Running Battlefield.

  1. At this point, you’ve done the work, with 3 weeks left to go, rest trumps everything. If you aren’t feeling a workout, just run miles. If you aren’t feeling like running, then rest. I know exactly what you are feeling, as I felt the same thing right before my marathon. If I start getting grumpy, then it’s a sign I need to rest. You are going to do amazing!! Just listen to your body, cut yourself some slack, and do the best that you can do. I believe in ya! 🙂

  2. I don’t train at that mileage or for marathons but I understand about rest being a part of training and losing site of that. I always say after a big race that I will rest and I never do. Maybe just take one day off which isn’t enough because you really should take a day off each week whether you race or train that week. It’s really hard to rest, I think it takes a very confident athlete to take a few days off and not worry about it and I’m just not that confident athlete right now!

    It looks like you had a great week of training and regardless of what you said, I still think you’re a running machine :). Great job!

  3. It’s definitely ok to take those extra rest days when you really need them. Sometimes they can offer just the right amount of energy you need to crush all your other runs. Enjoy the taper and don’t feel the need to push it if you’re not feeling it.
    Good luck with the taper! Hope you can embrace the extra well-deserved rest 🙂

  4. YAY TAPER!!!! I’m so glad that you’re there too. Congrats on all your hard work! I know it’s going to pay off huge for you!
    I used to always compare myself to other runners and I found after awhile that all it did was cause me undue stress, Plus I felt like I was going out too fast because I had something to prove. I’ve found that I love running so much more now that I can put all that behind me.

  5. gahhh you log so many miles! good for you, girl. i really try not to compare myself to other runners b/c i started running out of a genuine love for it and a desire to just have something that’s all mine, my personal time, a passion…so i try to see my running as my own, and not in comparison. i tend to get more competitive with myself than with other people. i did run with a boy for the first time in agessss last night, however, and i was mildly concerned that he’d be leaving me in the dust, but we rocked out a good pace that worked for us both, so i was happy. 🙂

    • Boys usually smoke me in pace! But I did beat one of my buddies once. Only once lol But I really just run for me and no one else. It’s a source of joy and I need to remember that. Thanks for stopping by my little blog!!

Tell me what you really think...

