#MarathonMonday Week 12 Trust in the Training

22milerun.jpgHey y’all! I’m working on very, very little sleep today. The kid woke up about 12:45 and got, er, very, very sick all over his carpet floor and bed. So we are sitting at home sanitizing every inch of our home. And I’m praaaaaaaaying that I don’t fall victim to the nasty little tummy bug myself.

I’m marathon training. And my son says he HATES missing PE day!!! (he is his mother’s son) Ain’t nobody got time for dat. Get on with yo bad self buggy boo and get outta here!

I keep worrying (they say worry is a sin. and I shouldn’t worry. but I’m having the hardest time!) that I will have this insanely perfect training cycle only to have something horrible cancel the big race or that I’ll get awfully sick. But let’s pray that all will continue on strong and that my little dude will get better soon. I’ve had him re-hydrating his system with NUUN All-Day hydration. Beats pouring nasty chemicals and sugars in his body! NUUN isn’t only great for running and working out, it’s the best way to stay hydrated daily with necessary electrolytes without the sugars and chemicals so many “sports drinks” offer. So, thank you NUUN for keeping the kid and myself well hydrated and healthy.

Fruit Punch

So here we go…

For the past 11 weeks I have been training hard and blogging every Monday about it in #MarathonMonday. Inspired by  #MotivateMe Mondays with Janice at Fitness Cheerleader and Rachel at Running Rachel I decided to take on my own Mondays and remain accountable during my marathon training with YOU. The beauty of #MotivateMe is that it can be motivation for anything health/fitness related. So if you’re not into the marathon thing head over to #MotivateMe Mondays and link-up! I fully believe that linking up with them back in December helped me achieve my base mileage building phase. So if you’re currently training, fixing to begin, or just starting to wet your feet in the fitness area feel free to follow me as I continue on the road towards a BQ in Nashville this April!

I am FIVE weeks away from the big M-day!

For the past 11 weeks my training has been pretty solid. Hitting all key running workouts, enjoying a few easy runs, getting in strength training, and practicing yoga. I feel pretty confident, but not. If you read Sunday’s post then you know we all have a little doubt that likes to creep in every once in a while. I’ve basically been coaching myself with a plan derived from the Runner’s World Big Book of Marathons. I follow the plan near religiously but have been creating my own paces. In the past I have relied on a book of some sort to tell me how fast I should be running my tempos, speed intervals, and long runs. This entire training I’ve  been going solely on feel and what I feel I am capable of. I’m wondering if how I’ve been training myself is good enough… It would be nice to have a coach to tell me to push harder when needed or rest when necessary but I’m trusting in myself to hit all the right paces and recover smart.

Trust myself. That in itself is kinda scary. But if you’re in tune with your body, it will tell you what it needs.

This week is a cut back week, thank you sweet Jesus! I’ve managed three solid weeks of mileage ranging from 51-60 and  my body is ready for a break from the past three monster long runs.

So here’s the goal training plan this week:

Monday: REST/yoga/stretching

Tuesday: 10 miles w/8 @MP

Wednesday: 6 E w/6 strides (NASM CPT exam day!!!!) + upper body strength

Thursday: 9 miles w/4×1 mile intervals

Friday: 7 E + core

Saturday: 14 LDS

Sunday: 8 E + yoga

Total Miles: 54

How my body is feeling: 

Minor fatigue, soreness. But drinking tart cherry juice has been a lifesaver! NO ibu for this gal. Hips are getting more stable with corrective and strength exercises like clamshells, walking lunges, awkward machine...

What I’m thinking:

For the first time during this marathon training cycle I thought to myself, “I am freaking crazy. I’ve lost my mind.” I’ve put my life on hold for a 16 week training plan just so I can try to qualify to try and run Boston. What am I thinking? I’m not. I’m simply following my heart…. and I fully believe there is a reason for this…eye on the prize. Pressing on to encourage the world.

#PressOn

Do you every question your sanity when marathon training? Do you use a coach or self-coached? Have you ever gone through a stellar training season only to have your plans interrupted by illness or a canceled race? Favorite run or workout this week??

blessed and beautiful running.

jesssig

12 thoughts on “#MarathonMonday Week 12 Trust in the Training

  1. I know the fear of illness all too well. Before my marathon in February, someone in our house was sick for 10 days – coming out of one end or the other. I was FREAKED I was going to catch it before the race!! (I didn’t, I caught it two days after!)
    Also, you go girl – you have some crazy weekly mileage!

  2. My favourite run was yesterday’s easy 5 miler, because that is the only run I have done this week! And we don’t want to talk about last weekend’s long run, haha. Do you drink the tart cherry juice at a certain time, or just incorporate it into your day? I have heard so much about it and would love to give it a try!

  3. You’ve got this, Jess! It’s natural to worry and doubt sometimes and that’s perfectly ok – as long as you push that doubt away when it comes down to it 🙂 I’m self-coached too and while that can be nerve-wracking, it can definitely be the most rewarding in the end 😀 WHEN (not if ;)) you get that BQ, you’ll have a lot to be proud of 😀

Tell me what you really think...

