5 Spring Favs, OOFOS Recovery Footwear, + a Miracle

Spriiiiiiiing! Yes! It’s here! And our weather has been shaping up nicely. I think the winter weather is behind us. This is how I feel about it: RUN. Running in the spring is like a breathe of fresh freedom air. We work hard all winter to enjoy the fruits of our labor. 

Soooooo… I know it’s Saturday Sunday….but y’all probably know how I operate by now… So here’s Friday’s post plus today funzies. 

I’m always excited about the Friday Five link-up hosted by CourtneyCynthia, and Mar. I just have a hard time apparently posting on Friday… Check out their rules and future topics HERE! The BEST way to meet new fabulous bloggers and give you a blog prompt should you find yourself at a write’s block. 

Today’s Friday’s topic is one we have all been anxiously waiting for, Spring!! Good-bye snow, hello pollen! 

Spring is no doubt a beautiful time of year with flowers blooming and gardens flourishing…however all this can really aggravate allergies and asthma symptoms in turn making breathing while running a bit more difficult. Remember, your body needs roughly two weeks of running outdoors to acclimate to any new climate changes. So give yourself the time your body needs. For additional tips and reading check out PopSugar’s article HERE and Active tips HERE.

Aside from that bit, here are five things I look forward to in spring, especially this spring! 

1.) The kid’s birthday! He will be the big 10! Time flies…

ahhhh. my pride and joy. What a face!!

2.) my husband and I celebrate our first hiking date in May! It will be two years. ❤

3.) Hiking! Waterfalls! Trail running! Picnics! Basically just being outdoors.

4.) Races! Brevard Rotary hosts a White Squirrel 5/10k and kid’s fun run. Come visit us in May.  You will not regret visiting Brevard!

This year we all know I have the Rock n’Roll Country Music Marathon benefiting St. Jude Children’s Hospital in Nashville marathon lined up in April! From the St. Jude’s website:

  • Families never receive a bill from St. Jude for treatment, travel, housing or food — because all a family should worry about is helping their child live.
  • Because the majority of St. Jude funding comes from people like you, St. Jude has the freedom to focus on what matters most – saving kids regardless of their financial situation. (That means your donation, no matter what the size, will help!)
  • St. Jude is working to drive the overall survival rate for childhood cancer to 90% by 2020.

I’m hoping and training hard for a solid Boston Qualifying time. I need to run a 3:35:00. I feel like I’ve been putting in all the work I can. But it’s still a daunting and scary task..The closer we get to race day the more I question myself. Can I really pull off an 8:12 min/mile for 26.2 miles??

runner’s mecca…aiming for a BQ so I can run Boston next year!

5.) Last but not least, new beginnings. Easter. Spring is a time of new chances. Fresh starts after a long cold winter.

Winter is always hard for me…but 11 weeks into marathon training feels harder. I’m so grateful for all the positive bloggers who remind me to press on. Like Jen over at Jen Choses Joy posted about no grit, no pearl. Seriously, go read her post here. Her humor and optimism will keep you motivated. Thanks Jen!

Except we are over half way there! You got this!

Okay so for the fun part of today’s post: OOFOS! Have you heard of this recovery shoe footwear? My hubby and I went downtown for a little shoe shopping. I originally went in for a new pair of Mizunos but found these:

oohahh

We found them here Sports Spot in Brevard. The owners are super cool and they hands down beat anyone in price!

 I definitely felt the “oo” after my 22 miler even if I looked like ew.

Salty, sweaty, and done.

I only have one more monster run left in this training cycle!! woohoo!

I plan on a more thorough review on the shoe next week aiming for a Tips and Tricks on rest and recovery post for Tuesday.

One last positive note: This past Saturday I was playing around with the idea of not running long. I just didn’t feel like it. I was exhausted. But as I strapped up and went on I kept thinking about my IRun4 buddy…I prayed for him and his family. He’s been in the hospital since December. So I prayed if there was any was that my running 20 miles would get him out of the hospital and home I would run it. So I ran it. I realize in no logical way my act of physically running could rescue him but if I knew it could, then I would run it in a heartbeat. So I pushed through and just kept running.

And you know what?

That very same day he was sent HOME!!! It was a miracle in my eyes. If you don’t run for #IRun4 I strongly suggest you sign up. Your life will be forever changed.

What’s your favorite thing about Spring?
Do you have any Spring races lined up?
Is it hard for you not to second guess your training?
Do you shop local?

Blessed and beautiful running. 

jesssig

10 thoughts on “5 Spring Favs, OOFOS Recovery Footwear, + a Miracle

  1. Wow – good luck with the Boston goal! That’s awesome. Very interesting about the recovery footwear. I have a pair of Crocs sandals that I like but always looking for good footwear to keep the plantar fasciitis at bay.

  2. Pingback: #MarathonMonday Week 12 Trust in the Training | Flying Feet In Faith

Tell me what you really think...

