Making a Difference Link-Up with Miles-to-Go

. Miles To Go

Good afternoon friends! I’m so excited to be joining Kelly over at Miles-to-Go for her making a difference link-up! This will be a once a month event held on Wednesdays about giving back through running or anything fitness related. I have so many things to blog about when it comes to giving back so of course I was excited when Kelley asked us to join her.

Here’s a few topics you can expect from me in the upcoming months:

1.) SMART Girls volunteer coaching. I dedicate each Wednesday afternoon for about an hour and forty-five minutes or so to running, talking about life skills, and encouraging elementary aged girls. This one is particularly special to my heart.

Image result for irun4

2.) Running for the #IRun4 organization. This organization is for those who can not run themselves and you dedicate your running, swimming, biking, or whatever it is you do in their name. I love my #IRun4 buddy more than I can express!

“You can run for me anytime!”  
A simple phrase that sparked a movement.

St. Jude Heroes logo

3.) Raising money for charitable causes through racing. I’m currently raising money for St. Jude’s Children Hospital as I I train for the Country Music Rock n’ Roll marathon.

4.) Giving back by giving time to other runners who may be new to the sport. Offering your time is definitely a way to give back. It’s not always monetary or a huge event.

For today I’ll leave this as an introductory post for the link-up and dive into more detail on topic number one above next month. I have too much to say to squeeze in on one post.

I will say that running can be a solo sport for sure, but within the running community there is a strong sense of camaraderie that has the power to change the lives of many. Friendships developed, charities supported, and endless bouts of support. Running in a way, can be the least selfish thing you can do.

If giving back is your thing feel free to add your link below to join in on the conversation.

Do you give back to the running community? How? 

blessed and beautiful running.

jesssig

18 thoughts on “Making a Difference Link-Up with Miles-to-Go

  1. Jess you are involved in so many great charities! I’m very glad I found you through the link up I believe this could really take off and be something great! I look forward to your other posts in this series! Take care and have an awesome day! πŸ™‚

  2. I am patiently waiting to be matched up with my IRun4 Buddy right now! It’s such an amazing organization. I don’t think I will have my match before my goal race, but hopefully shortly after. (I think I’m like 900th in line right now.) I also run for Cool Kids Campaign which is a pediatric oncology organization here in Baltimore. They are wonderful! I love doing what I can to give back. πŸ™‚

  3. Nice job with being involved with lots of great organizations with your running. I helped with the Stride program for boys last year and always volunteer at local races if I am not running myself.

  4. Pingback: Making a Difference Link-Up With Miles-to-Go & NUUN GIVEAWAY!! | Flying Feet In Faith

  5. Pingback: #MarathonMonday 5 Days Until #RnRNashville and Martina McBride!! | Flying Feet In Faith

Tell me what you really think...

