Marathon Monday and CLIFBar WINNER!

IMG_2909

Hey hey guys! So sorry this post is up super late and it’s ridiculously, sporadically compiled. I had an early start, like 5:00 am start, to my day so this post was definitely squeezed in last minute after running, kid, work, some kind of frozen dinner (yes, I know. *hangs head in shame* in front of all my amazingly talented pre-prepped foodies out there. This is not one of my finer skills.) , and now WordPress.

So why the 5:00 am start today? My treadmill is broke and I had to make a run to the gym, run five miles, get back home in time to be taxi mom, and employee ready by 8 am. Plus I don’t do no-light-whatsoever-dark-o-thirty-running. Just seems too dangerous. I try to be smart. You know, as I was walking into the gym today I thought to myself how awesome would it be if I was actually on my way to work here? Soon enough. So let me just …

*siiiiiigh*

I’m finally sitting on my butt for a minute.

Anyway, y’all aren’t here to read about my boring daily rush routine. I know. It’s cool cause I have a winner picked thank you random Rafflecopter app!

And the winner is….

Ms. Autum H.! I’ve got your contact info so be on the lookout for an e-mail soon with directions to obtain your goodies. Thank you so much to all who entered and take the time to read my ramblings. 🙂

So what’s new? Well, we have been getting snow and ice. Guess that’s not too new. I’ve decided that running in it was definitely beautiful and peaceful. And that it made me a total tough running rockstar…

But there’s more snow on the radar. So I’m basically over it now. I’m tough but I’ll be the first to admit I’m also tired of being “tough”. I have my limits. I’m training in all this cold weather and I’m just waiting for that marathon day in April to be like 85* hot and humid and I will roast like a puffy, white marshmallow.

As far as mileage last week I hit all my runs except an easy five miler. I had a tight hammie from snow/ice running. I didn’t get in my weight training either as we were snowed in for a good portion of the week…I did practice yoga…I realize I could have put together a body weight routine in place of my regular weight room at the gym routine (Jess at Blonde Ponytail is great at sharing new ideas)…but sometimes…

abs

pizza..yes please.

When I’m snowed in…I swear I could eat pizza all day every day. Well, even when it doesn’t snow. It’s a flaw. A serious condition. I need to be conditioning my body for strength. Not every day needs to  be a “carb loading” day.. *shakes head in shame* again. Seriously.  I need one my awesome fellow healthy foodie bloggers to create, cook, and feed me healthy food all day, everyday. Logically I know that good food fuels the body for success and strength…but for now I’m doing good to keep my running up. As the mileage increases (on top of a full-time job standing on my feet all day every day) the harder it seems to want to eat celery, carrots, and healthy grains and fit in other critical cross-training and strength training routines. Increased mileage = insatiable appetite and lack of energy to “workout”. Ya feel me?

But this is a new day. Let’s #getafterit!! So this week I find myself on a mission to eat less pizza, after today because I totally did, line-up at home strength workouts for the impending snow days, and yoga it up more this week. You are more likely to eat smart and work out if you plan in advance! Also planning around things like snow.

So this week’s mileage line-up:

Monday: 5 easy w/5 strides

Tuesday: 8 w/8 hill repeats

Wednesday: 9 w7@MP + yoga

Thursday: 4 easy + strength training

Friday: Rest/or XT

Saturday: 3 easy

Sunday: 13 long slow distance + yoga

Total goal miles: 42

How’s your training going? Are you a pizza addict? Would you be willing to solve my poor eating habit?! Any week specific goals on your agenda this week? 

blessed and beautiful running.

jesssig

7 thoughts on “Marathon Monday and CLIFBar WINNER!

  1. I can’t help you with the pizza dilemma because pizza is glorious (that picture is wonderful). I was hoping I’d have a lighter schedule this week so I could finally get to the gym while it was still open, but it’s looking like that was completely wishful thinking. At-home workouts, here we go! :O Great job on your mileage for the week! :]

  2. OHHH, I hope I’m the Autumn H. mentioned above, how sweet would that be?! Today’s temperature in Pittsburgh is -9, so yeah…another TM run in my future after work. Sometimes I’ll do a circuit type workout to get some strength training in, it’s run one mile, then 20 pushups; another mile then 50 situps; another mile, then 20 tricep dips; one more mile, then 20 squats…repeat, if you want/need. You can decrease the length of the run segments too. And yes please, #allthepizza.

Tell me what you really think...

