Thoughts for Thursday: Why? A Few Words to Chew On.

Why?

We make plans, strive for excellence, set out specific goals, and chase down dreams…but, why? What is it inside of you that creates these desires? What is the reasoning behind the dreams?

If you can answer this question to you current goal(s) then you are more likely to succeed with said goal. I came across THIS article from LifeHack.org and it’s words ring profoundly true. You may set certain goals to achieve what you think you want to achieve (i.e. happiness, new found love, winner’s status, big bucks in the bank, etc.) but when we meet our original goal we can often feel unsatisfied. Why?

The important thing in the process of constructing our best life is not necessarily what goals we set (what we think we want) but what motivates us towards those goals (what we really want).

While I was reading Marathon Man by Bill Rodgers I kept wondering to myself, why is it that I want, I feel as though I need, to run a BQ time this April? Why do I crave to run Boston so much? He ran because it was life or death for him. His entire life was wrapped up in running.

Is it because Boston is herald as runner’s mecca?

Do I feel as though I have something to prove to myself? The world?

And if I was honest, I don’t think I could give you a solid answer right this moment, other than I know I need to challenge myself, focus my intentions, and always prove myself to be stronger than what I once thought. This post is short and wasn’t written to tell you something profound, rather to encourage you to think profoundly. To think on your real motives behind your goals.

Do you know the why behind your goals? Have you even thought of goals in this light?

Blessed and Beautiful Running.

jesssig

Tell me what you really think...

