#MotivateMe Monday Week #5 & #6 End of Year!

#MotivateMe Mondays brought to you by Fitness Cheerleader and Running Rachel

#MotivateMe Mondays brought to you by Fitness Cheerleader and Running Rachel

It’s already been FIVE SIX weeks?! How? More crazy, I’ve kept every single mileage goal each week. Thank you #MotivateMe! With the exception of Christmas week…but I think after five weeks of mileage build-up it was due time to give my body a break. (oh, and I realize I didn’t post last Monday…forgive me. Last week was exceptionally busy for me.) I was feeling disgruntled over the fact that I didn’t meet my mileage goal the previous week either, until I read back to my first #MotivateMe post and realized I did in fact meet my goal. I had set a 35-40 miles goal for the week and hit 36. I was stressing over not meeting the 40 mile mark. But life happens. It’s called family, holidays, and work. I still managed to get in 36 miles! Celebrate each #SmallVictory. 36 miles is no small victory though, no? This past week was a wash with only 21. Do you tend to fall back on mileage or fitness during the week of Christmas? I think it’s okay and completely acceptable in fact. I usually spend all year running, training, or striving for good fitness that enjoying one week of free play (and treats!) is needed.

I haven’t been doing much strength training or cross training either. This is something I definitely need to improve on. When I’m already running what feels like a trillion miles, how do you add other fitness in?! Where there’s a will there’s a way and I’ll figure it out.

But in the mean time what have I been up to? Enjoying our new home, family, work, work, work, running, and more work, then Christmas with the family. We kept it low key for our first Christmas as a newly married couple/family.

Waiting on Santa...keeping things balanced with cookies and carrots..

Waiting on Santa…keeping things balanced with cookies and carrots..

Christmas surprise to me from the in-laws! I plan on breaking these pink Mizunos in to around 50 miles or so then keeping them off until the marathon in April. I’ve always wanted a pair of the Wave Prophecys and I must say I do love them. They seem a bit heavier but definitely have a nice bounce to them.

 

mizuno

Mizuno=love.

We made time to squeeze in a few fun runs with the family and pooch. Like I’ve mentioned before, when base building take time to enjoy the run! If you follow me on Facebook then you’ve already seen these cute photos…so I apologize for the duplicates!

photo

The family that runs together, sticks together.

Yesterday, I decided to embark on an easy run around our new neighborhood. I figured I would get lost. And I did. Instead of an easy two miles the pooch and I got in four miles of rain, hills, and wind. We really have been fortunate with amazing weather most days, full of sunshine! Not too cold, no snow. It wasn’t really cold this morning, around 52*. Pretty warm for December.  Some slow miles here today, but we I had to walk up some of those gnarly hills. I believe Jazzy helped pull me up…Our new neighborhood is going to make for some killer hill workouts…

doglove

Rainy run with the pooch.

 

So we are one week away from marathon training and less than one week away from 2015. Who else is super excited?! I plan on going with the advanced Marathon Plan from the Runner’s World Big Book of Marathon Training this time. I have high hopes for a BQ time…I used this book back in 2013 and took 20 minutes off my marathon time…

What’s on tap this week: (last week before marathon training.)

Monday: Easy 3 miles at home on the ‘mill

Tuesday: 6 miles in town

Wednesday: Easy 4 miles on the ‘mill– Vinyasa yoga in the evening

Thursday: 8 miles easy

Friday: Off or XT/strength body-weight workout at home of some sort

Saturday: LSD 12 miles

Sunday: Easy 7 — Vinyasa yoga in the evening

Total miles: 40

 

How will you be running the last few days of 2014? Any big goals or races on tap for the new year? 

Here’s to a beautiful week!

Blessed & Beautiful Running.

11 thoughts on “#MotivateMe Monday Week #5 & #6 End of Year!

  1. I love your new Mizunos! I wear the Inspires. How many weeks is your training plan? I’m planning to run my first full in 2015 (after 28 halves – so far) and don’t know exactly how long to train as I’m not starting from zero. PS…your son is so cute!

Tell me what you really think...

