Friday Five: December Favorites

IMG_2466.PNG
Here we are again, it’s FRIDAY! This week I’m joining in Run, Eat, Pray DC‘s Friday Five December Favorites edition. Along with Mar On the Run and You Signed Up for What?! For more info on the link-up click HERE. Be sure to check out all the other great bloggers linking up.

I have a love/hate relationship with winter. I strongly dislike the cold, but I do enjoy the snuggling under fluffy blankets and hot cocoa that comes with it. Freezing cold weather is not fun to run in but I guess it beats being drenched in sweat…nah, just kiddin. I’d rather be a hot, sweaty mess. But aside from that here’s a few things I do love about December.

1.) The Brevard Center for Women’s Reindeer Run 5k. This was my first race so it always holds a very special place in my heart. And this year I’m blessed to encourage SMART Girls to the finish line! My son will also be running this race with SMART Boys so this will be his third 5k! His first reindeer run though. I’m pretty excited about this.

2.) Christmas time — especially putting up the tree, baking cookies, wrapping presents, mailing cards, the stress of having zero money…haha just kidding. I love it all regardless. We all know the real meaning of Christmas and all that’s important.

3.) Twilight Tour — It’s our local downtown festival. Hot cocoa, horse drawn carriage rides, music, lights, shopping…FOOD!

4.) Birthdays!! My husband’s birthday is a few days before Christmas so we make sure he doesn’t get overshadowed by the jolly red fat guy. His birth into this world rocks my socks off. My brother and nephew also have special days too!

5.) Snow. We tend to get some snow in December. I don’t like playing in the snow but I do like watching the snow fall, the kid play in it, and drinking hot cocoa until I’ve had at least 20 pounds of chocolate.

IMG_2467.PNG

What are your favorites about December?! Any exciting races this weekend?

Blessed and Beautiful Running.

7 thoughts on “Friday Five: December Favorites

  1. December is such a magical time. It’s nice to live somewhere with seasons and experience the snowing weather (fingers always crossed for a white Christmas). I’m not a fan of wintery runs either but I think the local Christmas Carol 5K or Ugly Sweater 5K may just happen.

  2. I love this time of year but I do not like the cold!

    I’m so glad you linked up with Fitness Friday and introduced me to your blog! Have a fabulous weekend. Hope you will join us again 🙂

Tell me what you really think...

