Strength In the Weaknesses and Marathon Man

IMG_2211-0.JPG
Today’s run was cold and windy, hadn’t run in nearly two weeks, and I was feeling fat.
But… I knew I had to get in at least 10 miles today for my last ‘longish’ run before the marathon next Saturday. Six days away. I had to know that my body is still capable of running long. Only 16.2 miles to go…
Today I was reminded that I am strong, God is good, and that training isn’t an all hard core session after session or nothing. And today’s run felt AMAZING. The human body is indeed a miracle. I think about my #IRun4 buddy and I’m deeply inspired and reminded of this. When you feel your weakest you may find yourself surprised at the strength you posses when you get up and try. To find some additional running inspiration I’ve been reading in the book, Marathon Man by Bill Rodgers. I scored a signed copy at the OKC Marathon April 2013.

IMG_2216.JPG
He wittingly takes you through his running and non running journey. Proof that you’re never too far gone to return to running and to being the best version of you that you can live up to.
I thought I was a lost cause going two weeks without running. Try going years, like Rodgers went through.
Today was bitterly cold and windy. But my body pushed through. I carried on. I didn’t quit and felt like I was back to me.

Training need not be an all-or-nothing battle, involving punishing track practice, grueling calisthenics, and wrenching interval sessions every afternoon. It could be a fun and easy cruise through the gorgeous New England countryside. It could be an act of freedom by which I could step outside myself and my racing mind. A long run in nature could even be a way to connect my physical body with the unseen spirit of the universe.

On another note, I mentioned in yesterday’s post how purchasing new running shoes helps get myself pumped back up about running and racing, so does watching marathons. Today I had the day off from work and was fortunate enough to catch the NYC marathon, most of it anyway. And wow, how about that cold wind? They had super chilly temps and high gusts of wind around 20-25 mph. They said this NYC race was the slowest since 1984. I can no longer complain about my 10 mph winds this morning. Ha!
Also hearing how some of the elite female runners are mothers is truly inspiring. Mother runners rock! Giving birth is no cake walk…then running a marathon that fast?
Get it.
Oh, and the women’s winner? Mary Keitany. A 5′ 3″ little momma. Go girl!! Congrats on your win! There’s hope for us short sacks. 😉

How about you, do you feel discouraged when your training goes by the wayside? Or have you come back and performed stronger than you thought you were capable of? Do you watch marathons? Like NYC or Boston?

Happy and blessed running.

2 thoughts on “Strength In the Weaknesses and Marathon Man

Tell me what you really think...

