I’m Only Human.

IMG_2052-0.JPG
When was the last time I blogged?
Oy.
I have a lot to catch up on!
Last week I only managed to squeak out 22 miles total.

I’m supposed to be marathon training.

This week doesn’t appear to be much better. Between work stress, daily activities, my messy house, a car that stinks of sweaty runner and kid, getting the kid taken care of, appointments, trying to keep up with laundry(that’s really just a big fat joke!), wedding planning…
I’m exhausted. I’m only human.

You can do many wonderful things, but you can’t do everything.

I’ve had 8 weeks of awesome training until these past two weeks. Every single running workout has been spot on or better. Until now. My last tempo run yesterday was a wreck. I was all over the place in pace and halfway through I just crashed. Couldn’t catch my breathe, legs felt like lead, and I just felt defeated. I’m chalking it up to poor hydration and high humidity. But still…worst run ever. Not every run can be amazing. Not every week can be perfect. But what matters most is that we press on. I Love To Run posted on Facebook this morning about running with purpose. And it hit me like a ton of bricks. I’ve lost my purpose somewhere in this mess we call LIFE. We all start out with great intentions and a high purpose but sometimes that fades into the background when life is yelling at you from every direction. My first purpose should be to love The Lord and glorify Him in all I do.

IMG_2049.JPG{Photo source}

Then I came across Nicole’s post at The Girl Who Ran Everywhere about running getting in the way of life or visa versa. Right now I feel like I’m treading that very fine line of balance. I’ve been giving more to life than my training the past two weeks.
I’ve been watching these kiddos be goofballs and I wouldn’t trade this for anything! Even running:

IMG_2044.JPG
Writing thank you cards as we receive gifts (so grateful! But I will be so glad when this is all over!!!):

IMG_2047.JPG
And while this is necessary and good, because I realize I’m no super athlete training for the Olympics, my running and training is still very important to me. It’s my one vice. My thing. The thing that makes me, me. And when I start to lose that I feel off balance. It may sound selfish, I’m not sure, but I need to run.
I need it.

Your turn: does life interfere with running for you? Or does running interfere with life? How do you find that balance? Please tell me there’s someone else who struggled as much as I!

blessed & beautiful running.

4 thoughts on “I’m Only Human.

  1. Oh I struggle with this all the time. When I run, I feel I don’t spend enough time with my family. And when I don’t run, I feel guilty for not running. You said it right, we are only human! I then keep reminding myself to live in the moment and try to make the best out of it.

Tell me what you really think...

