Missing The Long Run.

IMG_2039-0.JPG
This is the first week I’m unable to get my long run in. This makes me sad.
I’m exhausted from work and there truly has not been any time. I’m not one to make excuses, skip long runs, or training weeks. I can usually find a way to get it done. I’m creative and adaptable. But, sometimes life’s schedules just do not cooperate. I’m not at a total loss though. I anticipated weeks like this. That’s why I started training two weeks early. I added two extra weeks in my training plan for the honeymoon week and an emergency week. Would someone please tell my J-O-B to stop making me work 7 straight days in a row!! I’m exhausted. And while I have run 20 miles before work on Sunday before, in hind site it didn’t quite work out as I was 20 minutes late to work, completely useless, and did not take the proper time needed to recover.
There’s a few key things to remember here so I don’t completely beat myself up for missing a long run:

• Halfway through training and I’ve already had two successful 20 milers,17 miler, and an 18 miler.

•I’ve hit all of my tempo and speed sessions perfectly. Even getting some done on the track

IMG_2040.JPG
There’s something about running speedwork on the track that makes me feel awesome! Ha.

• I am not an Olympian. I am just your average, everyday #motherrunner trying to run a marathon.

• I can not compare myself with those who have zero kiddos and can get 50+ weekly miles in. Period. Stop comparing yourself!!! {speaking directly to myself here} my schedule simple is not as free.

• I have already accomplished many great things. As I refer to my backwards bucket list.

• Um, I’m kind of also planning a wedding. That takes T-I-M-E. When I signed up for this marathon I knew what I was getting into. I like a good challenge. When I think back on my last marathon training cycle for OKC Memorial Marathon I had to really get creative. My treadmill broke down not even halfway through my training! With the help of my sister and a 3 month gym membership I squeezed in a few runs here and there; still managed to run a 4 hour marathon. I’m hoping with how much better training is going with this training cycle that a BQ is possible.

• My life consists of more than running.
***GASP***
Oh yes, just said it.
I have a fiancé to love, meals to cook, a home to clean, thank you notes to write, wedding crafts to assemble, a kid to help with homework and play with, friends to visit, wedding vendor appointments, church to attend, a job to make all that money to spend on this wedding, packing to be done, a blog to write…etc. I love running. It keeps me sane. But I also have a life to live.

• I know that next week I have more days off and I’m going to kill it in the marathon training department.

• We all know that success is rarely a straight line of perfection anyway.

• I’m a rockstar. Because the One Who is in me is greater than anything on this earth. And I’ll be just fine. Long run or not.

Your turn! Have you missed training runs or weeks? How many long runs or 20 milers do you get in when marathon training? Do you beat yourself up if you miss?

blessed & beautiful running.

~Jess

6 thoughts on “Missing The Long Run.

  1. Pingback: I’m Only Human. | Flying Feet In Faith

  2. Pingback: Friday Favorites: Favorite Posts from 2014 | Flying Feet In Faith

Tell me what you really think...

