Thoughts For Thursday: Backwards Bucket List

Yesterday I had made plans to cook a real dinner. Didn’t happen and I felt like the worst woman on the planet and had a mini meld down because of my “failure”. Ever happen to you? Well, after reading Keren’s post from Healthy Mind Happy Body I was inspired to focus on all the great I have accomplished. Most of us have goals, dreams, and aspirations for our lives. Especially if you’re the ever so busy “A” type. We write goals down, create feverishly long lists, and organize our sock drawers by color, type, and fabric. Okay, maybe that last one is just weirdos like me. However, I say this to bring home a valid point:
We tend to be so busy making our lists that we forget the current list—the present. In the middle of our planning and organizing the beauty that is the here and now is flying by at lightening speed. So instead of focusing on what I feel I need or want to accomplish or haven’t accomplished, or mercilessly beating myself up because I haven’t accomplished, let me list for myself what I have accomplished. What I have checked off my lists.
I know. I’m making another list…some things can not be stopped!!!

1.) I gave birth to a son. This in itself is a powerful, strong, and striking miracle of the human body.

2.) I became a certified pharmacy tech. This may not mean much to you, however, as a new mother going through divorce at the time, this was a huge accomplishment for me personally.

3.) I took up running and finished my first 5k in 2011.
Thank you KaeLee Denise for the photo!

IMG_0151.JPG
4.) I wanted to run a marathon. By the ocean. So I did. I ran my first 26.2 at the Outer Banks, NC in November 2012.

5.) Then I wanted to run a marathon in my home city, Oklahoma City, Ok. So I did in April 2013.

6.) I wanted to volunteer in a way that gave back to girls and the running community. So I signed up to volunteer with SMART Girls in the spring of 2014. Best. Decision. Ever.

7.) I had several goals to home cook meals from scratch. I met my fiancé and then I did. I’ve broadened my list of meal specialties.

8.) I’ve kept a basil plant alive for over a year now. This is a miracle in itself. I also wanted to grow a vegetable from a seed. Mission almost accomplished. Those meant to be carrots…
Look how tiny:

IMG_1321-0.PNG
But my son brought home a seed from school for Mother’s Day and voilà, success:

IMG_1852.JPG
9.) I wanted to run a sub-23 minute 5k. I worked hard and accomplished this in May 2014. Even scored first female. Small town rights I tell you… But I’ll take it!

10.) I allowed myself to be loved and to love. This has been my biggest challenge, but by far the most rewarding.

You know, in reflecting on these accomplishments it pumps me up to keep going. I think I spend too much time downing myself, focusing on what I haven’t done well, feeling frustrated, and like I’ve failed over and over again. This list is such a strong reminder that I have accomplished much and will continue to acheive what I set my heart on.
So this is my challenge to YOU.
Stop right now and create your backwards bucket list. Even the smallest accomplishment is worth jotting down. Feel free to share it here, on your own blog post, or just keep it in your personal journal. But do write it down. Seeing your success on paper will bring positive reinforcements into your mind to keep you going strong. If you do blog about it please link back in the comments here. I’d love to spread the positive vibes.

Your turn: do you make lists? Are you A or B personality? Do struggle with staying in the present?
blessed & beautiful running.

~Jess

9 thoughts on “Thoughts For Thursday: Backwards Bucket List

  1. Great list, and great way to look at things! I think most runners are Type A or have strong competitive and/or perfectionist tendencies. I definitely struggle with staying in the present. I sometimes have a tendency to dwell on all of the things I’ve done wrong in the past and I definitely worry about all the things that can go wrong in a situation. Thanks for the reminder to focus on the good things. 🙂

  2. Such a great idea! This is something I have been struggling with recently and I think this backwards bucket list will help me put things into perspective! Thanks for the reminder and keep it up 🙂

  3. Thank you for sharing this! I love the idea! I’m definitely a type A personality (but without the aggression–I just really like the planning part), so I think it’d be really good for me to step back every now and then and look at the things I’ve done. I wanna make one of my own now! :]

  4. Pingback: Missing The Long Run. | Flying Feet In Faith

Tell me what you really think...

