Wisdom Wednesday: Marriage, Moving, & Running Into Change

I love my fiancé. Let me just get that settled before I tell you how sad it makes me to leave my cute little house and move into his.
This is something I’ve been truly struggling with and the closer we get (80 days away?!) to the big day the more nervous, happy, elated, thrilled, sad, scared, and a whole host of mixed emotions I become.
It’s not that I’m not looking forward to moving in with my future hubby, it’s just I’m having a really hard time letting go of my comfort zone and all that is mine, so to speak. I’m afraid his house won’t feel like my home because it has belonged to his family for so long and is filled to the max. I realize it’s a change on both parts, but it feels like I’m the one leaving everything behind while he stays in his comfort zone.
But without change there would be no growth. I will see this through as a growing adventure and focus on all the great that will come. Letting go of the good so there can be greater. Many times we hold on for dear life when God is asking us to let go. He says, trust me. I’ve got something way better planned for you my child! (Check out Jeremiah 29:11)

20140730-072455-26695414.jpg
Some things I’m reminding myself to positively encourage my spirit:

• God is good and still in control!
• I am marrying the man I’ve been praying for.
• The house is conveniently located close to town.
• Which means I’ll be able to walk out the front door and go for a run. — you know I’d throw running in somewhere!
• Which also means my son is really looking forward to biking to school!
• There won’t be any more of this me driving back and forth crap.

20140730-075048-28248199.jpg
Jess over at Blonde Ponytail talked about moving their family. I’m not moving states at least! But reading about her exhausting and daunting task of starting in a new space was encouraging.
I think I’ll go for lots of runs.
Running is therapy, no? And runners are resilient people with strong hearts.
Thank you for listening to my ramblings…I know this post wasn’t entirely running related but it feels good to talk about what’s going on and bothering my spirit… Helps to put things into perspective.

I want to know: have you moved recently? Any big, new changes in your life? How did you deal?

blessed & beautiful running.

~Jess

4 thoughts on “Wisdom Wednesday: Marriage, Moving, & Running Into Change

  1. I just moved into a new apartment this past weekend. Although it’s only 10 minutes down the road from my old one, it’s different and definitely a change. I have a new roommate who I love, but before I was living with my absolute best friend who has now moved to a different state after graduating.

    I hope your move goes well and everything will fall into place.

  2. Same thing happened to me. Shortly before we got married I moved into my husband’s house. I felt the exact same way. I love his house, but I was a little worried. My small condo was my safe heaven and I felt I give up my independence. In addition, my commute was a nightmare after moving (1.5 hours one way). In the beginning I still called it “his” house and it took a while for me to feel like it is ours. But it feels soo good not to pack up things and go to each others places. it feels good to start a marriage in one place where you grow into and fill it with your memories. You will love it, just allow yourself some time.

Tell me what you really think...

