Tempo Thursday and I’m Just Not Feelin It: Seasons

Alright y’all. Here’s my feelings on the matter:

20140724-065637-24997747.jpg

I’m currently in week three of marathon training and have managed to slowly decline in my overall game plan. My runs are going like clock work, but the more intense my running workouts become the more difficult it’s becoming to get in the weights, yoga, and swim. Oh, and we also have dance on Mondays. Our schedule is a tight squeeze! Add everyday work to the mix, wedding planning, trying studying for the personal trainer exam, raising a kid, and it’s all kinds of funzies. I’m a glutton for punishment. How many things in life can I sign up for?
First week I hit every single workout. Second week I hit them all except the weights.
This week I missed yoga and have yet to find out if I manage a swim and weights…
Having to hit the treadmill a bit more too. :-/ yuk.
I tried running the tempos outside with the kid alongside on his bike but it ended up being more of a stop and go which defeats the purpose of a tempo. So I’m saving running with him for my “easy” runs.
I began to feel defeated. Then I read Heather’s post HERE and I was reminded that I do bust my booty and it’s okay to back off a bit from time to time.

“It’s just that as I’ve slowly learned that life is far more enjoyable when you stop trying to seek the approval of others, or worrying about trivial things that simply don’t matter in the big picture.” ~ Heather G.

“Because finding balance in my life, learning to roll with the punches, and appreciating what is happening instead of dwelling on what isn’t, is surprisingly satisfying…far more so than the numbers on the pages of my training journal. Fitness is important, and I’ll be the first to preach that to the masses. But being “healthy” includes a large mental and emotional portion as well. It’s important that we don’t ignore that side.” ~Heather G.

Her post could not have come a better time for my reading eyes.
My priorities have shifted in life and that’s more than okay. We all have seasons in life we go through. Different periods of our lives. Training seasons, family seasons, working seasons… I’m still waiting on my beach season. Ha!

20140724-072236-26556392.jpg
Your turn! Do get down on yourself if your training isn’t up to par? What season in life are you currently experiencing?

blessed & beautiful running.

~Jess

Tell me what you really think...

