#MotivationalMonday Rest Day

This is me today:
20140721-083106-30666319.jpg
Image source

Most people are ready to #getafterit on Mondays and I might be too if I hadn’t worked last week and all weekend. If you read my post from yesterday then you know I’m on team with the other party. I also had a killer tempo run in the humidity on Sunday before work. Yuk. Good, but killer on the ‘ol lungs.
I thought about getting up early this morning and running but after waking up in the middle of the night to attend to the kid’s narly coughing fest and then sleeping through my alarm (I didn’t wake up until light was peeking through my window) I decided the smart thing to do was schedule a rest day. I think the kid and I both need it.
So today, I think I’ll be motivated to sit around and think about training.
Rest days are when your body rebuilds and repairs itself so I know it’s a vital part of training. We can’t go out and murder our bodies daily without some r & r.
From the Runner’s World rest day article:

A day off every seven to 14 days restocks glycogen stores, builds strength, and reduces fatigue. Without recovery, adaptation may occur short-term, but ultimately it will fail. And since most injuries come from overuse, a day of cross-training, rest, or easy miles can prevent three-or four-week forced breaks caused by, say, ITB syndrome.

Rest:

Prevents overuse injuries
Restores glycogen stores
Prevents mental burnout

You can check out Active’s article HERE for rest and recovery training tips.

So what do marathoners do on their rest days? We plan our workouts for the upcoming week.

Monday: Rest and plan. Pm dance class with my honey!!

Tuesday: am Speedwork

Wednesday: am easy 4 miles, pm Vinyasa Yoga

Thursday: am tempo run

Friday: weights, swim 8 laps

Saturday: Cheer my sister and niece on at the Asheville Color Run!!!

Sunday: Long run. 17 miles on tap…
Is it just me or does this plan add the mega long runs early?!

What about you? Do you feel guilty for resting? Will you be getting after it today or resting?

blessed & beautiful running.

6 thoughts on “#MotivationalMonday Rest Day

  1. Nice post! Sometimes it’s hard for me to rest, but I know that we need to, especially to prevent injury. I will be at it today, since I rested all weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. That picture is so true! I enjoy my rest days. Sometimes my body really needs it, and other times it’s my mind that needs it. But I typically spend rest days thinking about running and/or training ๐Ÿ™‚ Looks like you’ve got a great week on tap! Hope all goes as planned.

Tell me what you really think...

