Firecracker 10k Race Report and a Winner!

20140704-095936-35976513.jpg
Personal stats:
50:49 gun time 8:11 min/mile
6th in my age group
35/121 overall

Temps: 62* breezy, mild, humid

Course:
Rolling hills, partly shaded, out and back turnaround that was very scenic and beautiful! Enjoyable run.

Timing: Right On Time Productions

Food/beverage: fruit, water

Support: Rotarians at every turn, a few locals

Swag: a tech tee

How I felt:
Didn’t sleep well night before. Legs felt heavy and tired. Did I over hydrate?
My motivation went MIA.
My main goal was to not pass out at the end anyway. I paced myself at moderate effort so I was able to hold steady without huffing and puffing too much. Even effort throughout. I had enough in the tank to pick it up in the last mile.
I treated it like a tempo workout, not a race. And I don’t regret this. Probably could’ve picked it up more but I know my body and heat so I ran on the side of caution. July is for fun. October… I will race, race!
20140706-134526-49526876.jpg
Compared to my 10k two years ago July this was much better. Not my overall fastest time. But still better than passing out.
I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t disappointed though. Running on that out and back and seeing so many women pass me was a bit demotivating. I did manage to pass one Boston shirt wearer and a buggy. So it wasn’t all a loss.
Oh well. You win some. You lose some.

Racing isn’t always about winning. Sometimes it’s learning about how well you can control yourself and enjoying the run.

20140705-225717-82637686.jpg
After the race and a quick shower we headed downtown Brevard to see what the 4th of July festival was all about. We treated ourselves to Rocky’s, a fun old fashioned soda shop. We completed our meal with a huge sunday ice cream. I tend to crave burgers and ice cream after races…

20140705-230649-83209486.jpg
I didn’t count calories today.
As you can see in the pic above with an Italian ice after my burger and ice cream. Don’t judge me.
It my first Rita’s Italian ice. Mango flavor. Oh yes. so good.
Then we just let little D check out all the cool old cars, face painting, bounce houses, and all that fun kiddo stuff.

20140704-183833-67113776.jpg
It’s been a busy but beautiful weekend!

And now for what you’ve been waiting for…the ENERGYBits Winner:

Congrats to:
Jenny from
Turtle Stride
Just shoot me an email with your info and I will forward it to ENERGYBits!

So you! How was your weekend? Any 4th races? What do you crave to eat post race?
blessed & beautiful running

8 thoughts on “Firecracker 10k Race Report and a Winner!

  1. Pingback: WisdomWednesday: Goal For 2015 Is To Be Last | Flying Feet In Faith

  2. Pingback: Firecracker 10K PR and Tales from the Second Place | Flying Feet In Faith

Tell me what you really think...

