#MotivationalMonday: Baby Carrots and Baby Steps

So yesterday I posted on baby steps in the beginning. What I’d like to offer you today is a continued and more thorough post on how to take on those baby steps. But first I’d like to offer you a chuckle, check out my “baby carrots”:

20140630-081610-29770391.jpg
I decided to pull a few carrots to see if they were ready because it’s getting hot outside and from what I’ve heard carrots don’t do well in too hot weather. Unfortunately, my petite carrots are a bit too petite. I had to taste them and I will say, they do taste like carrots! So, I count my second attempt to grow a vegetable a success! Last year I tried tomatoes and spinach but I’m pretty sure something ate my spinach and my tomatoes only grew to be large green plants with zero produce. I’m pretty excited I grew something this time.
Errrr, what did this have to do with baby steps? We all start somewhere!
Here’s a few tips to hopefully encourage and motivate you during the beginning phases of training!

Set micro goals
Try starting with something menial, for example: I will get out of bed on time at 6:00 am. (Well, for some of us, this may be a macro goal…) once you’ve accomplished your said goal your brain sends off “reward signals” which in turn encourages you to pursue the next goal.

Then set your macro goals
After achieving one micro goal after another you’re ready to tackle larger goals.
If say, you’re a brand new runner, never ran a mile in your life and you go out by saying, “I’m going to qualify for Boston next month!” You’re probably out of your league and setting yourself up for failure. Not saying you could never BQ but saying it takes time and many, many runs to get there. So in by creating smaller more manageable goals you are setting yourself up for success.
Check out Psychology Today for a more in-depth article on micro and macro goals.

  • Here’s my personal micro to macro goal example
    My long-term macro goal: BQ
    1.) Train for and run a fast 5k ✅
    2.) 10k✅
    3.) half✅
    4.) run a marathon✅
    5.) study what went well and what didn’t in my race✅
    6.) pick a great course to run fast with tons of motivation✅
    7.) then train for a BQ – in progress!

 

  • Other tips:
    Be patient with yourself
    Be kind to yourself
    You will slip up or fall back but that’s all part of the ride
    Give yourself a learning curve
    Remember: running is a gift! There are many who can not. Next time you’re tempted to get down remind yourself of this.
    Encourage others along the way
    Connect with a local running group
    Read motivational books, magazines, articles
    Don’t neglect the “real” world. Hopefully you’ve surrounded yourself with people who love and support you. You also need to be a support to them. Take care of those who take care of you!

Speaking of supporting those who support you, I need to give a HUGE shout out to my sister! She’s an excellent example of tackling baby step goals. She’s an avid CrossFit member and she’s now run two 5ks beating her time by a landslide the second time! This July she and her daughter will be participating in the Color Run! And I will be there to cheer them on! She’s always been my biggest race fan. Always believing in me, cheering me on, and just being the amazing person she is.

20140630-085618-32178796.jpg

20140630-085617-32177834.jpg
20140630-092906-34146633.jpg

photo source

Your turn!
Are you a goal setter?

blessed & beautiful running.

 

One thought on “#MotivationalMonday: Baby Carrots and Baby Steps

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites: Favorite Posts from 2014 | Flying Feet In Faith

Tell me what you really think...

