Brevard Rotary WS 5k Race Report+Hill Running Tips

Brevard Rotary White Squirrel 5k/10k 

**Please forgive the format! This post was generated from the iPhone device. Blogging on the run!*

1st female

Overall Brevard Rotary, once again, did a great job hosting this race. They host a series of races including 4th of July race 5k/10k and Flight of the Vampire 5/10k. 
If you’re looking a fun, scenic race come visit us. There’s a good chance for an age range place too! Got to love small towns. 
Check out http://www.brevardrotary.org for race into. 
It should also be noted that all active military persons received free entry to this race. Rotary, you rock! Thanks for supporting those who fight for us!

**PR**
5k
Personal Stats:
22:32 7:16min/mile 

19th/209 total

1st female overall
Let me just say when I saw 22 on the clock my eyes got huge! Halfway through I honestly felt like I couldn’t PR but I told myself, “You’re not slacking, no way. Run hard! And just go. You think your running slower but you can run fast.”
Weather:
Perfect. Sunny, cool. 50s I believe. Started out low humidity. Most of the course ran through the shaded areas of neighborhoods, so the sun only beat on me once. 
Course: 
Scenic and pretty. Started at the Brevard college gym, ran through local neighborhoods, past Franklin park. Rolling hills. The hills came about the middle of each mile so the last half of each mile was downhill or flatter. I felt like this was good placement. I read great advice on running hills this morning:
Lead with hips, stand tall when running uphill
“Lean and go” when running downhill.
I just repeated this mantra. Felt like it worked well. 
For a detailed article read Runners Connect:

A few turns. Felt like I nailed the tangents perfectly. 
A few locals cheered us on. 
Plenty of course direction with volunteers, spray painted arrows, and spray painted white squirrels on the road … Only in Brevard. 
{{{Have I mentioned I LOVE Brevard?! Check out one of our local festivals. Post race, it’s fun to mender around town! 

Time:
This was an officially timed course by Right on Time Productions 
Bib time chips 
Swag:
A tee 
Toothbrush. Meh

Grub: 
Pre and post: bananas, orange slices, water, water bottles from PNC bank
Aid station half way through 
Prizes:
They had some really great prizes! As first overall female I received:
$20-25 gift cards to a local restraunt, jewelry store, ladies clothing store, a big box of peanuts, winery (what, what?!)
And of course a big, gold medal. I do it for the tee and medal. 
Extra:
They did have a kids’ Fun Run one mile
All kids who participated received a medal. Kudos Rotary for keeping it kid friendly! 
A few of SMART girls were there running. When I nabbed my medal they cheered super loud and were like “That’s my coach!” The same girl who I ran with at the Legacy Run was there and scored a PR too. That made my day! Better than any medal. 

The fiancé scored a PR as well. Woot!
Think he’s turning into a racer himself. 

And wait for it… 


And I was worried about those hills…


***Did you do any Memorial weekend racing or running? Do hills get you? Any awesome local races your way?***

Remember those who fought for us so we can run free…God bless. 
***Happy (& Blessed) Running!!***

3 thoughts on “Brevard Rotary WS 5k Race Report+Hill Running Tips

  1. Pingback: Sleepy Sunday, Self-Doubt, and Why I’m Not Racing…Right Now | Flying Feet In Faith

Tell me what you really think...

