Legacy Run 5k Race Review. SMART Girls Run!!

Legacy Run Fun

Today I ran at the Inheritance of Hope Legacy Run with the group of SMART Girls I’ve been volunteer coaching with. Having the opportunity to get to know some of these awesome girls and run with them has been one of the biggest blessings in my life. One girl I ran with today beat her previous 5k race time, and knowing I was a part of that is priceless. Ended up running into her and her family post race at lunch in town and her mom thanked me for her awesome race. I about cried. I know it may sound super silly but this is the stuff in life that counts. I believe this is where God wants me to be. I ended up running 5.67 miles for a 5k and for the first time I didn’t care about my time. I wasn’t obsessed with how slow or fast I ran. I just ran the girls in as I found them and ran back to catch another. If you don’t volunteer somewhere, somehow, may I strongly suggest you do. Especially if you’re a runner. Taking time out to enjoy the run really helps you put life in perspective and relax a little along the way.
This past Wednesday they talked about 5k prep and showed the girls the video about IOH and why we run it. It both breaks my heart and causes me to smile at the same time. Because during a sad time in some families lives, through the money raised with these runs these families are given the chance to create lasting positive memories.

Check out the video:

For more info check out The Legacy Run’s website HERE.

And be sure to LIKE their Facebook page HERE!
FOLLOW them on Twitter HERE!

 

As far as race specifics:
Here’s a brief summary. This was one of the best organized and fun events I’ve participated in.

Distance: The race hosted a 5k, 15k and a kid’s fun run. A distance for everyone.

Course: I can only testify for the 5k because I didn’t run the 15k. Maybe next year? Ran out from the college, up jailhouse hill (mean, huh?), through down town Brevard, through a neighborhood, past the Farmer’s Market and back to the college. Really a nice course, even with jailhouse hill. The course took you down hill several times too so it made for a fun roller coaster ride.

Consumables: Plenty of food, snacks, and water pre and post race. Bananas, KIND bars, and brown bag lunches with chicken salad (I think? I didn’t grab the bag but I believe that’s what was in it.) and baby carrots. I was stoked to see KIND Bars there. My favorite on-the-go snack. All natural ingredients you can pronounce and recognize. Be sure to check them out.

(((Find KIND on Facebook and Twitter.)))

Potty: I didn’t count but I want to say there was around 6 porter potties on site. Not a bad line. AND they had portable sinks to wash your hands in outside. Fancy, eh?

Music: Plenty of energy with the dj, music, and speaker. After our race some of the SMART girls, coaches, and others learned a few new dance moves. Thanks to DJ Dogg at Class and Sound Extreme! SMART Girls run and dance. Woot!

Extras: The kid’s had fun with the bouncy houses, face-painting, and balloons. I loved how family friendly this event was. Never a dull moment. Truly something for everyone.

Swag: A super cool swag bag for both the kids and adults. For the kids who participated in the fun run, they received a goody bag from our local toy store O.P. Taylor’s with a $5 gift certificate, coloring book, crayons and a dentist was generous with a toothbrush, floss, and other goodies. I was a bit envious of his bag!
In the other race bag we got a sticker, magnet, pencil, keychain and various handouts and of course the tee. One of the better swag bags I’d say.


Grubbing after race festivities and sporting inspire hope tees

We stayed until they handed out awards and cheered everyone on. Which was also a first for me. I usually leave right after, but staying for the whole event made my heart happy.

A little gun show rawr!
Happy (& Blessed) running!
Tell me what you really think...

