You’re Never Too Far Gone

Hey, hey everybody!  Yes, I am still alive and kicking.  Well, just now really getting back into the kicking part.  I kinda took a lazy summer off from training and wowza does it show.  My endurance lacks in a serious way.  My body, mind and overall spirit thrives on routine.  I believe my son does better as well settled in a routine. So glad school is back up!
So what have I been up to? Not too much running!  Which I can tell really messes with my mind…

I suppose my point in this blog post is this: there comes a time in life when you have to simply live LIFE. Not counting miles or missed miles, not fretting over time, speed or distance but counting “I love yous”, hugs, laughter and time spent together. I’ve hiked and walked and played.  Still, having said that, life is no excuse to quit or give up. Am I in great shape? No. But that’ll come back. The kid is back in school and I’ll get my routine back on. My little bit of lost endurance and muscle will come back when I get to work on it. I don’t regret my lost miles. I don’t regret missing this next marathon…. Back that up. And I’m lying to myself. Um, of course I’d regret not running this marathon I’ve paid for! 

Why was I even considering not running it? Life got a little off balance. I still can’t believe I let myself go for a period of time. I won’t go into great detail but I will say this,
No matter what, make sure you always stay true to who you are. Never allow someone or something to take away something that makes you, you. A great relationship is one that builds each other up and pushes you to be the best you can be.  Not one that distracts, takes away or brings you down. It’s a slow fade they say… Keep your eyes and heart open. 
On the other hand why I decided to stick with it and press onward:
1. Marathoning has taught myself many things including how to manage time wisely, how to endure through challenging circumstances, that I am a strong woman inside and out.
2. My son has gained valuable knowledge from our adventures. Including learning field trips. 
3. It’s taken me to the ocean, mountains and plains back home in Okc!
4. I’ve made more friends in two years than I have in my whole life. 
5. Running makes me a better person. An encourager. A solid employee. A go getter. 
6. As crazy as it sounds, I get more done when I spend time running. I just feel more efficient. I even started a garden! 
7. Running makes me confident and also humbles me all at the same time. 
8. The list here is endless. I could go on and on…
9. I get to eat more food. Enough said. 
I’m no fool to say I can run this marathon well. It will in no way be a glorious moment. It will be slower than four hours. I will probably cry like a baby and need ibuprofen and alcohol.  I’ve lost two months of training. Dumb. 
But the important part here is the fact that I decided not to give up.  

“But those who hope in The Lord will renew their strength.  They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” 
Isaiah 40:31
I was reminded of who I was, thanks to those in my life who truly love me.  And in a weak moment I almost let it all go.  I started this blog a while back to encourage others. And how dare I quit. How dare I almost revert to where I started. God created me to be so much more than just average. 
I can not settle for average. And neither should you. 
“She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.” Proverbs 31:25

So here’s my apology to those I’ve let down. I’m sorry. I’m sorry I lost my balance for a period of time.  But what I can say is take everything as a valuable learning experience. I learned what’s truly important and just in fact how strong God is in me. He strengthened my faith. You not only build physical muscle while training, but also mental and spiritual muscle. 
“Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air. No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.” 1 Corinthians 9:24-27

So I’m going to run this marathon. I may die doing it, but I’ll be darned if I’m going to quit. 
And when it’s time, I will find another race and push myself again.
Be encouraged. If you’ve ever been through a period of time where you thought all is lost, it’s not! Shake the dust off and get up! You got this! And if not, you know God always has this!
***What are your thoughts?  Have there been months or years where you felt “life” got in the way of training or training in the way of life? Have you ever trained for a marathon in as little as two months?! Tips??***

Tell me what you really think...

