LOSER!

That’s what’s up.  I have felt like a total loser as of late.  It happens to the very best of us.  Sometimes I sit back and wonder just who the heck do I think I am?  I’m not some elite athlete on a mission to conquer the marathon.  That’s just in my dreams.  And I daydream way too much!
Marathon training?  Well it’s going.. sorta.  I’ve had one flawless 18 miler and a few decent training runs.  The treadmill quit.  I revived it.  Then it quit again.  For good.  Then I had a cold, then another cold…sinus…upper respiratory infection or whatever you call it and had another lousy mileage week.
So…for the good news!
I’ve got my first race of the season coming up! Yay!  It’s a 4 miler which is a distance I’ve never raced before so automatic PR right? It’s local here in town, The Oskar Blues 4 Miler.  I am officially registered for this baby.  I got news for my sinus issues: YOU BETTER CLEAR THAT MESS UP FOOL! My speed hasn’t been too up to par due to the issues I’ve had this go-round during training but I’m hoping to make this a fun run with cool green and white stockings and shamrock tattoos. woo.
Back in February my sister, her kid and my kid all ran the Frostbite Fun Run again this year!  It was windy and super cold but the sun was out and beautiful.  They all did awesome, beating their times from last year.  They were all right around 9 minutes this year!

Little D, the Sis and little K 🙂

And after much deliberation and thought about the whole “OMGOSH I don’t have a treadmill and can’t afford one, I’ll never be able to run again” drama I finally decided on a local gym membership here in town, the Fitness Factory.  The people seem super cool.  The treadmill was so nice! And 99 days for $99 isn’t bad…it will get me through the rest of my marathon training plan.  And it’s right close to my sister’s CrossFit maddness awesomenss. The sister and I came up with a running plan so she can help with little dude while I get my sweat on in the gym.  Seriously…nasty sweat. It is HAWWT up in there!  HOORAY!  But maybe this will help me acclimate to heat for OKC? I don’t really know what I’m doing.  All I know is I’ve been scraping by basically to get this training done.  It’s been terrible for the most part.  But I’m getting done what I can.  I can only wonder how this next 26.2 will end up… I’ve had to really rethink my goals.  Plan A-Do NOT die! Plan B-Score PR by running under 4:24.  Plan C-Rock it like originally planned and score a sub-4!  More than likely I foresee Plan A being accomplished at the very least.  HA! Oh and I think that spring marathons are no longer for me.  Training through winter sucks!  Sickness…crap weather…retarded treadmill issues…bah.

Also going through this lousy season, I’ve been reminded of a few things that I’ve forgotten.. There’s more to me than just running!  I sing, play guitar, have family and a J-O-B.  And as I’ve mentioned before, my first priority is here:

Love of my life.

My little guy is getting not so little every day.  It’s vital to spend as much time with him as I can. I’ve had to relax a little and loosen up a lot in regards to training.  I had get my friggin panties out of a wad so to speak.  I realize I am not some world class athlete, I am a single mother who runs.  I do not have time nor the resources to training like a pro.  Running should bring joy to my life.  Not stress.  Do I want to run my best? Of course! Do I still want to run Boston? Um, heck yes! But if that doesn’t happen I shouldn’t be all poor me, I suck, I’m a total loser.  Because I’m not!  And I don’t want any other mother runner to ever feel that way either.  Being a mommy is a high calling.  You are RAISING A HUMAN BEING!  That is no easy task my friends. 

My second priority is here:

Getting fat.  Ha! But seriously, I’ve gained a few pounds that have not gone away…troublesome. hmm.  So I bought a scale that supposedly measures body fat, muscle mass, water content ect…do these things really work? Who knows.  Guess I will find out tomorrow morning.  People keep saying I’ve gained muscle but I think I’ve just gained ice-cream..err..fluff pounds.  I know I’m not the only runner out there with weight issues.  Come on, spill the beans folks.  Help me out! 
Now it’s time for me to get my ice-cream butt to the gym and work it out.

**Your turn, please share: 1.) Have you had super, ridiculous, crappy training months? How did your race end up? 2.) Have you lost sight of your true priorities during training? 3.) How’s your weight going?**
ha!
Happy (&Blessed) Running!
3 thoughts on “LOSER!

  1. My attempts at starting a real marathon training program have fizzled and died only to be relit and fizzle again. I think if I can decide on a marathon and see it as an approaching goal I might actually get something done. Low and behold a friend posted a link for the first annual Celebration Marathon in January 2014. It's 20 minutes away and I'm familiar with the potential course. And it's only $60. I think it's a winner.
    Speaking of Crossfit… I have a friend who is a Level One Trainer and he seems to live, eat and breathe Crossfit. I was feeling inspired and signed up for a class. If you don't hear from me again it's because I died. 🙂 Keep Running!!!

  2. Ha! I hope you don't die! I bet you'll do awesome. Signing up for the OBX marathon last year was what kept me going, that and having a working treadmill in the home. Lol I seem to waver between insane optimism and the truth of the situation. But, where there's a will there's a way! I hope.

Tell me what you really think...

