Wisdom Wednesday: Time in Technology

Last week I didn’t post one blog post.  And for a day or two I got rid of Facebook.  *Gasp!* But it didn’t last too long.  I missed all my friends.  However, I felt the need to step back and get some perspective. Life can get overwhelming real quick when you’re trying to keep up with everyone else.
On average how much time a day do you spend in technology world? Cell phone, computer, internet, social media, tv, tablet…etc etc…


(Photo from Time management Ninja)

What if we tracked every hour we spend a day?  How many hours would that give us to run?  Exercise?  Play with our kids/dogs/cats/spouses(insert whatever you have here)?  Clean house?  Visit real face-time friends and/or family?  Volunteer?  The list is endless. I include myself here.  I realized I was spending way more time than I thought I was.  I’m not suggesting that social media is bad. In fact it is a very good and useful tool. I have learned many new things, been inspired by others, made new blogger friends and won some cool freebies! (Including Kara Goucher’s book Running for Women from Fit For Moms!  Go check out her blog! She’s always got useful tips and encouragement!)
But rather I’m suggesting that it can be a total time-sucker for other wonderful things in “real life”.  It’s about balance.  Ah, the great balancing act.  I am still a work in progress with this!
So I challenge you to pick just one day this week and track every minute you spend glued to some form of technology and write it down. Then make a list of what you could have accomplished within that time frame.  Writing things down has a way of making things more concrete. (Also works for running goals!  Write them down and you’re more likely to succeed.)
Feel free to share what you’ve learned. Or if you have a great time-management skill, share what works for you to keep things balanced and in check.

So as far as 12/12/12 I got in my 12.12 miles today in honor of the last repetitive date. An amazing run!  A much needed amazing run.  I felt like I was on cloud nine the whole run and cloud 12 after.  Definitely a huge difference from yesterday.  I was reminded how blessed I truly am.  Sometimes all it takes is some time to reflect and regroup.  Time to vent.  Time to stew about things.  And when it’s all said and done you come back refreshed and ready to take on the next thing in life.  Life’s a road.  Run it.

  **So, how did you run the day?**

Happy (&Blessed) Running!
One thought on “Wisdom Wednesday: Time in Technology

Tell me what you really think...

