Will I be apart of the 0.5%?

Marathon Running Statistics | Statistic Brain

^ According to this site only 0.5% of Americans have ran a marathon. And I think I know why. Marathon training is HARD.  No jokes about it. One must truly respect the distance, and realize all that it requires for training.

•My house is a disaster most days.
•I don’t get enough sleep. (But that could be due to the Olympics being on currently and me being glued to the tv late at night…)
•Long runs are getting looooonger and less enjoyable.
•Fun little things like blisters.  Sports bra chaffing.
•Waking up ridiculously early just to get runs done.
•Cross-training. (Which I’ve been slack on AGAIN.)
•Trying to find TIME for it all. 
•Speedwork, tempo runs, long runs, warm-ups, cool-downs, stretching, core-work, functional exercise yada yada.
All this can really add up to total exhaustion. Fatigue.
If I didn’t have a demanding, full-time job on my feet all day….(although I’ve heard of plenty of people who manage jobs, homes, families and train as well….I’m just having a “arrrrgh why-do-I-have-to-work” moment)
I began questioning my sanity; why I am doing this, again?
Trying to manage a home and child while giving the Kid 100% of what he deserves from a mommy has been a challenge.
Being a single parent is hard enough, why did I think I could tackle a marathon?

Because I want to. And I know I can. It’s a personal challenge, that when I complete the race, it will truly be an amazing accomplishment.  It keeps me pushing to be the best me I can be.  My son has been watching me work hard toward my goals and I believe he is catching the running bug. He loves running on the treadmill!  During his swim practices he had a great work-hard attitude.  He will also get down and crank some push-ups out with me.  So I know this is more than just benefiting my own personal health.
Yet still, somedays its hard to find the energy to get up and go.
It isn’t easy. But then again as they say, if it was easy everyone would do it.

I think I need help. I have a goal. I can’t imagine not meeting it.
I knew 16 weeks of marathon training would be long and tiring. But now, it is beginning to sink in…and I’m only on week 5! When you find yourself in this place what do you do to get pumped back up? 

Happy (&blessed) Running!

2 thoughts on “Will I be apart of the 0.5%?

  1. First, congratulations on entering into the whole Marathon Training endeavor…it is a big task to be sure. There are certainly all kinds of tricks people play to get “pumped up”, but I find that at times (many times for me personally) what I need to do is to just “not think”.

    When I get up at that ungodly hour to get the run in, if I start thinking about what is ahead I can almost always find a way to talk myself out of it. However, if I just mechanically get up, gear up, head out the door and start running, it nearly always goes well…especially after the first couple of miles (which are nearly always “less than motivated”).

    Best of luck to you !!!

Tell me what you really think...

