Excuses, excuses…why hello Monday!

Last week went by way too fast!  It was a busy week full of work and the kid’s swim!  Thursday the kid had swim meet #3. And it was out of town by about 1 hour and 45 minutes away. And the meets are generally very long. Say about 3-4 freaking hours long!! We didn’t get home till 12:45 that evening. I’m no night owl. I like my sleep. I swear I’m an 80 year old woman in a 26 year old body. But next morning guess who had to be at work at 8 am???  I made it by 8:02. I know, I know. I’m a total slacker. I say all this mess to say that last week’s MT(marathon training)W(week)#2 did not go exactly as planned. Oh, I did get three solid runs in (minus one mile on the long run…gaaaah) but forget about any other form of excersice. I did manage to get a few push-ups, crunches and yoga poses in but I guarantee nothing noteworthy.
I had a list of excuses that week:

•kid’s swim practice and then swim meet out later-than-a-hooker late
•work early, work late, work more
•household needs and demands
•felt extra sleepy all week, haven’t slept well
(Been waking up in the middle of the night STARVING!  Is this normal during marathon training??)
•blah, blah, blah

And here I am. Blogging. Not moving. It’s only Monday.
BUT…I am on my “staycation” officially!  I would think it would definitely be easier to get my workouts in, right??  This week already has some goodies lined up for the kid.  I’m telling you, it’s all about the kid! 😉
Monday (that would be today): the kid has a friend coming over for a ‘playdate’ (which means I shouldn’t be Blogging but cleaning this house! We also had another little friend, aka cousin, over last night till later-than-a-hooker late–which was fun! I don’t mind it at all. Just makes for a sleep in next am kind of am and not get up early enough to get my workout in.)
Tuesday: We have a movie date with my sister and my neice!  Ice-Age!  Think I’m more excited than the kid…
Wednesday: I get my hair cut! Yay. 

*Okay, so by now I’m sure you’re all green with envy of my awesome week so far.  Ha!  This is where poor, single mothers find their joy and excitement.*

Thursday: open
Friday: open

Okay so I guess the week isn’t too full…but as a mother it can be so easy to say, “I just don’t have time to get my workouts in”. Yes YOU do!!!

Here’s some helpful tips I’ve thought of:

•Starting everyday off with prayer is a huge help.
•Keep a runner’s or fitness journal.
•Write down a schedule!!  Everything from wake-up time, laundry, runs, playtime, tv time <–shouldn't be too much if any of this!, shower time, phone calls, Blogging, whatever. And try to stick with it.
•Get shut eye! Easier said than done. Especially for mothers! Try to set a certain time for yourself to be in bed. So if you know you’d like to be up by say 6:30 get to be no later than10:30 for 8 hours of sleep….okay so I may be in fantasy land now but it is a nice idea.
•Get organized!!!!!  Knowing where things are is a huge time saver!  I have a small area of my home where I keep all my workout gear like magazines, yoga mat, dvds, ect.
•Lay your workout, running clothes and/or shoes out the night before where you will see them first thing in the morning.
•Or just sleep in your workout clothes. Me? I prefer pjs. But whatever works for you and gets you going!
•Make workout time fun with the kid(s). Say you don’t get up in time to get it in before the madness of the day starts, get your kid in the action!!  Get out the jump-ropes, try fun yoga poses together, take a bike ride.
•There WILL be days and weeks that do not go as planned. Just know that it is OK. Life will go on and so will your training plan.
•Just keep on keeping on!!!

Here’s a personal challenge:
Here is a picture of my blank planning calendar for the week. By Sunday I will post a picture of it FULL.  That’s the plan!

*So what about YOU?  How do your “planned” weeks or training plans go?  What excuses do you find yourself falling for? *

Tell me what you really think...

