My little running coach

I have the BEST coach ever. Seriously. He’s seven years old and happens to be my kid.
He is learning what it means to work hard and challenge himself. Anytime I start to doubt myself or if I’m just having a rough day, my little buddy is always there with words of encouragement like, “you know you can do this!”
Now he’s not always into my little work out dvds (as he calls them) but when I’m working on some paticular move(s), like the crazy chaturanga push-ups (ugh those are super hard!), he let’s me know how my form is.  “Straighten your back mom!”  And he will challenge me to do 5 more.  He’s a great kid. I’m telling ya!
Now with his swim practices and meets he’s really learning what it means to challenge himself. He might say, “It’s hard!” But he’s getting the hang of not being afraid to try something new, like the backstroke.  Even the small details of life can help us grow stronger. It’s all in how we deal. We could say it’s too hard so I’m not going to try. OR we could say it’s hard and I’m gonna give it all I have today. That’s all we have to do. Just take it one day at a time.
Even if it’s just 5 more reps of a move.
25 yards more of a backstroke.
10 more minutes of a run, jog, walk whatever your current level
2 more push-ups. <– hey, now that's a challenge for me!
30 more seconds of a yoga pose.
10 extra minutes praying with your kid(s) at night. *this one being the most vital in all of life*

Give it all you got today and then some!  And when you feel like you just cant , give it to God.  HE is more than able.


Tell me what you really think...

